< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Queensland Will Proudly Fly the Flag for Regional Cricket


Queensland will proudly fly the flag for regional cricket at this year’s Australian Country Cricket championships in Toowoomba from 3-11 January.

The Queensland Country men’s and women’s teams will look to start 2020 on a winning note, with both squads recently confirmed for the national titles.

Former Queensland Bulls spinner Cameron Brimblecombe will again spearhead the Brahmans’ campaign, after being included in last season’s Australian Country team following the titles in Shepparton, Victoria.

Townsville based soldier Jarrod Collis, a former Sydney first grade player, was initially selected but withdrew as the Armed Forces continue to serve and support local authorities coping with bushfires, drought and other natural disasters this summer.

He has been replaced by Rockhampton’s Joe McGahan who will make his Brahmans’ debut.

Experienced Wests Toowoomba batsman Chris Gillam, who farms near Clifton, returns to the Brahmans line-up after a few year’s absence last year, while fellow Darling Downs product Sam Neale makes his first open Queensland representative squad after playing for the Queensland Under-19 side at the National titles in Perth last week.

The Brahmans were beaten finalists in the T20 component of the competition last season, with Western Austalia winning the overall championships.

Emerald based Troy Paradies will coach the team for the first time with Townsville’s Tony Hampson his assistant.

The Queensland Country Women’s team, led by Townsville’s Stephanie Baldwin, have finished as runners-up in their past two campaigns.

Ipswich’s Lexie Muller was Queensland’s only Australian Country selection last season.

Several players in the Queensland side have enjoyed success so far this season with Premier Grade teams in the Katherine Raymond Shield.

Among the new faces are former Queensland youth leg-spinner Melissa Lewis who returned to play cricket with the Gold Coast Dolphins last year after a lengthy break.

Toowomba-based Bruce Deem will coach the team.

2019-20 Queensland Country Men’s Team

Christopher GILLAM (Toowoomba)
Mitchell ENGLISH (Mackay)
Justin DIXON (Townsville)
Angus WARNOCK (Cairns)
Jake ROACH (Cairns)
Michael SALERNO (Cairns)
Christopher STANGER (Cairns)
Joe McGAHAN (Rockhampton)
Samuel WINTON (Gold Coast)
Joshua De MUNARI (Townsville)
Samuel LOWRY (Gladstone)
Mason KOHLER (Mackay)
Sam Neale (Toowoomba)
Cameron BRIMBLECOMBE (Toowoomba)
Coach: Troy Paradies
Assistant Coach: Tony Hampson
Manager: Jonathan Smith

2019-20 Queensland Country Women’s Team

Stephanie Baldwin (Townsville)
Amy Riddell (Gold Coast)
Alana Romano (Innisfail)
Abby Toshach (Atherton)
Carly Cooper (Warwick)
Carly Fuller (Gold Coast)
Charni Bloxsom (Mackay)
Eliza Flynn (Toowoomba)
Lexie Muller (Ipswich)
Maggie Murphy (Toowoomba)
Melissa Lewis (Gold Coast)
Samantha Dixon (Townsville)
Stacy Rockliff (Townsville)
Tahlia Smith (Cairns)
Coach: Bruce Deem
Manager: Nicole Wills

Official Cricket Australia Website