< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Quetta pick Pietersen as PSL draft gets underway

Quetta pick Pietersen as PSL draft gets underway
Kevin Pietersen will play for the Quetta Gladiators in the PSL alongside Luke Wright, Jason Holder and Sarfraz Ahmed.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The draft process for selecting the players for the inaugural edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) got underway on Monday as Quetta Gladiators picked former England batsman Kevin Pietersen.

Apart from Quetta, the other four teams taking part in the 2016 PSL are Peshawar Zalmi, Islamabad United, Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings.

The players in the draft were divided into five categories – Platinum ($140,000), Diamond ($70,000), Gold ($50,000), Silver ($25,000) and Emerging ($10,000).

In the very first round, Peshawar picked Shahid Afridi as the first platinum player after Islamabad traded their first pick with them.

By the end of the Platinum round of the draft, Peshawar picked fast bowler Wahab Riaz and Darren Sammy to complete their three picks from the category.

Islamabad chose Shane Watson, Andre Russell and Misbah-ul-Haq in the platinum round while Karachi opted for Shoaib Malik, Shakib Al Hassan and Sohail Tanvir.

On the other hand, Quetta went for Pietersen, Sarfraz Ahmed and Ahmed Shehzad with Lahore picking Chis Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Umar Akmal.

Karachi went first in the Diamond round and opted for Imad Wasim, Ravi Bopara and Lendl Simmons whereas Islamabad selected Samuel Badree, Mohammad Irfan and Brad Haddin.

Peshawar got Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez and Chris Jordan from the diamond round while Quetta picked Anwar Ali, Jason Holder and Luke Wright.

Lahore selected three Pakistan players in the diamond round and added Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah and Sohaib Maqsood to their squad. 

After a break the draft process resumed with the Gold round and Karachi went with Mohammad Amir, Bilawal Bhatti and England’s James Vince.

Peshawar choose Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Khan and Jim Allenby while Quetta picked Zulfiqar Babar, Umar Gul and Zimbabwe’s Elton Chigumbura.

Lahore opted all foreign players by picking Mustafizur Rahman, Kevon Cooper and Cameron Delport while Islamabad signed off the first day of the draft with Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Sami and Khalid Latif.

The second day of the draft process will continue on Tuesday with the teams having to pick five players from the silver category and two from the emerging category to make up the minimum squad of 16 players.

The five franchises will also have an option to pick four supplementary players each to take the squad strength to a maximum of 20 players.

PSL squads after first day of draft process:

Lahore Qalandar: Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Sohaib Maqsood, Mustafizur Rahman, Kevon Cooper, Cameron Delport

Quetta Gladiators: Kevin Pietersen, Sarfraz Ahmed, Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Jason Holder, Luke Wright, Zulfiqar Babar, Umar Gul, Elton Chigumbura

Peshawar Zalmi: Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Darren Sammy, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Chris Jordan, Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Khan, Jim Allenby

Karachi Kings: Shoaib Malik, Shakib Al Hasan, Sohail Tanvir, Imad Wasim, Ravi Bopara, Lendl Simmons, Mohammad Amir, Bilawal Bhatti, James Vince

Islamabad United: Shane Watson, Andre Russell, Misbah ul Haq, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Irfan, Brad Haddin, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Sami, Khalid Latif

© Cricket World 2015