< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Rachael Haynes to captain Australia Women in Ashes

Rachael Haynes has captained Australia in two games of the recently concluded Women's World Cup
Rachael Haynes has captained Australia in two games of the recently concluded Women's World Cup

Australia have named Rachael Haynes as the skipper for the home Women's Ashes series against England that begins next month.

The 30-year-old, who returned to international cricket after a break of a three and a half years will replace regular skipper Meg Lanning after the 25-year-old has been ruled out of the series following a surgery on her shoulder in August.

Haynes also has the experience of leading the Australia team in the recently concluded Women's World Cup in two league games against Pakistan and South Africa in the absence of Lanning and overall has played three Tests, 36 One-Day Internationals, and 27 Twenty20 Internationals.

The Melbourne born star said she is looking forward to the new challenge of leading Australia in the multi-format Ashes series.

"I had the opportunity in the World Cup and that was great but to captain in an Ashes series, in such a huge series, it's a huge honour and it's something I'm really excited about," Haynes told cricket.com.au.

"There's lots of certainty around it... that gives me a great opportunity to plan and to talk to the playing group and players individually about their roles and the sorts of things they'll be executing.

"From my perspective it's great we've now got this lead-in time and everyone knows what's happening."

Haynes also expressed confidence that the team is equipped enough to adapt to the different format involved in the multi-format series which has been in place since 2013.

"I've been part of a multi-format Ashes before and I know what to expect.

"There's days there so much cricket played, we all know the changes you need to make across the different formats so we'll be well planned for that."

The teams will play three ODIs, a solitary day-night Test and three T20Is between 22nd October and 21st November.

© Cricket World 2017