Rahim, Razzak Out Of Sri Lanka T20s

Mushfiqur Rahim looks skywards
Mushfiqur Rahim will miss the T20 series against Sri Lanka but is expected to bat for Bangladesh tomorrow.
©REUTERS/Andrew Biraj. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Bangladesh have made several changes to their Twenty20 International squad for the forthcoming two-match series against Sri Lanka as they look to finalise their squad ahead of their hosting of the ICC World Twenty20 next month.

Captain Mushfiqur Rahim has been left out after sustaining a fracture to the little finger on his left hand during the ongoing second Test in Chittagong, while the uncapped trio of Arafat Sunny, Sabbir Rahman, and Mithun Ali are included. Shakib Al Hasan returns after missing the match against New Zealand in November.

Omitted are left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak, who picked up a hamstring strain during the Test in Chittagong, with Ziaur Rahman, Naeem Islam and Soumya Sarkar left out from the 15 named to play New Zealand.

Mithun Ali is the likely replacement for Rahim behind the stumps, with either Tamim or Mortaza set to lead the side, although that is yet to be confirmed. Sunny, a left-arm spinner, has been a consistent performer on the domestic circuit for some time and benefits from Razzak’s injury. Reza is recalled in place of Ziaur as the seam-bowling all-rounder, while 22 year-old top-order batsman Sabbir has impressed in Twenty20 cricket recently and averages almost 32 from 42 matches.

Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Mortaza, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Mithun Ali, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Sohag Gazi, Arafat Sunny, Farhad Reza, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain.

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results

27th-31st January: 1st Test, Mirpur
SRI 730-6 dec. bt BAN 232 & 250 by inns. & 248 runs
4th-8th February: 2nd Test, Chittagong
SRI 587 & 305-4d. drew with BAN 426 & 271-3
12th February: 1st T20I, Chittagong
SRI 168-7 beat BAN 166-7 by two runs
14th February: 2nd T20I, Chittagong
SRI 123-7 beat BAN 120 by 3 wickets
17th February: 1st ODI, Dhaka
SRI 180 beat BAN 167 by 13 runs
20th February: 2nd ODI, Mirpur
SRI 289-6 beat BAN 228 by 61 runs
22nd February: 3rd ODI, Mirpur
SRI 241-4 beat BAN 240-8 by 6 wickets