< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Rahul Dravid, Mahela Jayawardene included in ICC Cricket Committee

Rahul Dravid, Mahela Jayawardene included in ICC Cricket Committee
Rahul Dravid is also in contention to take up the role of Indian coach.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Batting greats Rahul Dravid and Mahela Jayawardene have been appointed to the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Cricket Committee for a three-year term.

Former Indian Test captain Anil Kumble, who was appointed as the ICC Cricket Committee chairman in 2012, has been given a three-year extension and will now serve in the post until 2018.

Along with Dravid, former Australian off-spinner Tim May has been elected by the Test captains as the other player representative, with the pair replacing Kumar Sangakkara and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan.

Jayawardene, who has been appointed as the past player representative, will replace former Australian captain Mark Taylor, who has now finished his final three-year term on the ICC Cricket Committee.

Meanwhile, Richard Kettleborough has been included in the ICC Cricket Committee as the umpires’ representative and he will replace the now retired Steve Davis.

Thanking the outgoing members of the committee, ICC General Manager - Cricket Geoff Allardice welcomed Dravid, Jayawardene, May and Kettleborough.

"I want to thank Mark Taylor, Kumar Sangakkara, Laxman Sivaramakrishnan and Steve Davis for their significant contribution to this committee," said Allardice in an ICC media release.

"I welcome Rahul Dravid, Mahela Jayawardene, Tim May and Richard Kettleborough, and I am confident that these highly credentialed individuals will carry on the good work of their predecessors to make the sport even more competitive and attractive."

It was also announced in the media release that Lord’s will host the annual summit on 31st May and 1st June and three weeks after that the ICC Annual Conference is scheduled to be held in Edinburgh, Scotland.

© Cricket World 2016