< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Rajasthan Royals beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 3 wickets in IPL thriller

Archer hits the winning runs for the Rajasthan Royals
Jofra Archer the hero as Rajasthan Royals beat Kolkata Knight Riders

Rajasthan Royals won the toss and decided to bowl against Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens, Kolkata today in the IPL.

Match Summary

Kolkata Knight Riders 175 - 6 (Dinesh Karthik 97*; Varun Aaron 2-20)

Rajasthan Royals 176 - 7 (Ajinkya Rahane 34, Riyan Parag 47 , Jofra Archer 27*; Piyush Chawla 3-20, Sunil Narine 2-25)

Result - Rajasthan Royals won by 3 wickets


Tournament Stats and Points Table

Put in to bat first on their home pitch, Kolkata Knight Riders scored a competitive 175 – 6 with Dinesh Karthik 97* the hero with the bat and Varun Aaron 2-20 off 4 overs the star with the ball for Rajasthan Royals.

In reply, Rajasthan Royals got home, with 4 balls to spare, in a thrilling run chase that swung back and forth, as wickets fell and partnerships blossomed.  They scored 176 - 7 with Ajinkya Rahane 34, Riyan Parag 47 and  Jofra Archer 27* the main run getters and Piyush Chawla 3-20, and Sunil Narine 2-25 the main wicket takers for KKR.

Archer hits the winning runs for the Rajasthan Royals ahead of joining his England teammates in the one-day squad for games against Pakistan and Ireland in May. 

Archer on leaving Royals early to join England:

  • “I’m upset about leaving but I’m going on to something that is very important to me. Everyone here at Rajasthan understands that and is very happy for me.”
  • “I’m really grateful for the opportunity to go and chase my dreams and for that I will always have a special place in my heart for Rajasthan.”


Response to the game and form with the bat ahead of joining England:

  • “It’s a massive boost, hopefully the England coaching selectors will see what I can do. Hopefully it can get me to where I aim to be as a contributor in the team.”




Kolkata Knight Riders - Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(c)(wk), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Piyush Chawla, Prasidh Krishna, Prithvi Raj

Rajasthan Royals - Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson(wk), Steve Smith(c), Ben Stokes, Riyan Parag, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Gopal, Jofra Archer, Jaydev Unadkat, Oshane Thomas, Varun Aaron

©Cricket World 2019