< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

RR v RCB, Qualifier 2: Buttler's hundred carries Rajasthan into their second IPL final

Rajasthan Royals made it to the final of IPL 2022 with a fine seven-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in second qualifier at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Friday night in Ahmedabad.

In the final to be played on Sunday again at the same ground against Rajasthan will take on Gujarat Titans. This will be Rajasthan's second final appearance in an IPL after their triumph in the inaugural edition in 2008.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 157 for eight and in their response, Rajasthan finished on 161 for three in 18.1 overs.

Bangalore proceeded ahead on the basis of a 70 run second wicket stand between captain Faf du Plessis and Rajat Patidar. After the fall of du Plessis, Patidar carried the innings forward with a 42 ball 58 with four boundaries and three sixes. Glenn Maxwell contributed to the total. But the rest of the batting collapsed without any major contribution. In the end Bangalore finished on 157 for eight in their 20 overs. For Rajasthan the best bowlers were Prasidh Krishna (3-22) and Obed McCoy (3-23).

In their response, Rajasthan began confidently through Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler. The opening pair posted 61 for the first wicket. Then Buttler carried the chase forward with captain Sanju Samson as they added 52 runs for the second wicket. Buttler then finished on an unbeaten 106 off 60 ball with 10 boundaries and six sixes. Rajasthan finished on 161 for three in 18.1 overs. For Bangalore the best bowler was Josh Hazlewood (2-23).

Match Summary
Royal Challengers Bangalore: 157-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Virat Kohli-1.5 ov), 2-79 (Faf du Plessis-10.4 ov), 3-111 (Glenn Maxwell-13.6 ov), 4-130 (Rajat Patidar-15.3 ov), 5-141 (Mahipal Lomror-17.4 ov), 6-146 (Dinesh Karthik-18.1 ov), 7-146 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-18.2 ov), 8-154 (Harshal Patel-19.1 ov)

Rajasthan Royals: 161-3 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-61 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-5.1 ov), 2-113 (Sanju Samson-11.4 ov), 3-148 (Devdutt Padikkal-16.5 ov)

Result: Rajasthan Royals won by seven wickets 


Playing XI
Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper & captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Obed McCoy, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeer), Shahbaz Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: Rajasthan Royals, elected to field
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022