< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Rajshahi Royals beat Cumilla Warriors by 15 runs in BPL

Andre Russell 37* and 1 wicket for Rajshahi Royals

Cumilla Warriors were steam-rolled by a fearsome performance by Andre Russell, who smashed 37 not out off 21 balls for Rajshahi Royals to take the game away from Cumilla Warriors.


Match Summary

Rajshahi Royals 190-4 (20 Ovs) – ( Liton Das 24, Afif Hossain 43, Shoaib Malik 61, Andre Russell 37*; Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1-25, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1-20)

Cumilla Warriors 175-4 (20 Ovs) – (Soumya Sarkar 88*; Mohammad Irfan 1-24, Shoaib Malik 1-19)

Result - Rajshahi Royals won by 15 runs

Cumilla Warriors won the toss and decided to field against Rajshahi Royals, which was decision they would regret later. Rajshahi Royals hit 190-4 in their 20 Overs with Liton Das 24, Afif Hossain 43 and Shoaib Malik 61 top scoring up the order and then Andre Russell smashed 37* in the later stages for the Royals to reach an imposing scoreof 190, on a seemingly difficult surface for some batsmen to bat on; Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1-25 and Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1-20, off their respective 4 overs, were the pick of the bowlers for Cumilla Warriors.

In reply, Cumilla Warriors just couldn’t get going in the run chase  and were always behind the run rate, despite 88 not out from Soumya Sarkar and were 15 runs short in the end.




Player Squads


Cumilla Warriors - Dawid Malan (c), Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Stiaan van Zyl, Mahidul Islam Ankon (wk), Robiul Islam, David Wiese, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Sunzamul Islam, Abu Hider Rony

Bench - Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka, Yasir Ali, Sumon Khan, Fardeen Hasan, Ifran Hossain


Rajshahi Royals - Liton Das (wk), Afif Hossain, Shoaib Malik, Ravi Bopara, Andre Russell (c), Alok Kapali, Irfan Sukkur, Nahidul Islam, Farhad Reza, Mohammad Irfan, Taijul Islam

Bench - Abu Jayed, Kamrul Islam, Mohammad Nawaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Minhajul Abedin Afridi


Match Details

Toss: Cumilla Warriors won the toss and decided to field

Time: 07:30 AM GMT

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

Umpires: Morshed Ali Khan, David Millns Third Umpire: Gazi Sohel


©Cricket World 2019