< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CLT20: Ramdin And Rampual Star In T&T Win

Ramdin clenches his first
Denesh Ramdin's knock of 48 was vital for his side.
©Action Images / Paul Harding Livepic

Trinidad & Tobago 135-9 (Ramdin 48) beat
Brisbane Heat 110 (Rampaul 4-14) by 25 runs
Champions League T20, Group B Match, Ranchi

Caribbean T20 champions Trinidad & Tobago got their Champions League T20 campaign off to a winning start by beating Big Bash League champions Brisbane Heat in the tournament’s opening Group B match in Ranchi.

Skipper Denesh Ramdin’s knock of 48 was crucial for Trinidad & Tobago as they slipped to 83 for six after being asked to bat. Alister McDermott removed both openers, Lendl Simmons (14) and Evin Lewis (19), with Nathan Hauritz (2-22), Ben Cutting (1-24) and Kemar Roach (1-29) then dispensing with the bulk of the middle-order.

Ramdin remained an ever present throughout this steady stream of wickets, however, and helped haul his side up 135 for nine. He added a useful 31 with Sunil Narine (8) for the seventh-wicket before falling in the penultimate over. Samuel Badree then clubbed a couple of sixes as Trinidad & Tobago ended strongly.

McDermott ended as the pick of the Heat’s attack with four for 37 from his four overs, adding the wickets of Narine and Rayad Emrit to those at the start of the innings.

The Heat then lost captain James Hopes to Ravi Rampaul at the beginning of their run chase, but looked to be progressing relatively nicely at 76 for two in the 14th over thanks to Joe Burns’ 45. However, Burns lost his partner Dan Christian for 13 to Emrit and there followed a clatter of wickets that culminated in the Heat being bowled out for just 110.

Rampaul was the stand-out bowler, bowling three batsmen en route to figures of four for 14 from 3.4 overs. There was also the usual parsimonious new-ball spell from Samuel Badree (1-16) and contributions from Emrit (2-26) and Narine (2-25).

The match was notable for the number of first choice players missing from both sides, mainly because of them taking the more lucrative option of playing for their IPL franchises ahead of their ‘home’ sides. Brisbane were without Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals), Mitchell Johnson (Mumbai Indians), overseas player Thisara Perera (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Luke Pomersbach (family reasons) and Ryan Harris (injured), while Trinidad & Tobago were missing big names players Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians), Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) and Kevon Cooper (Rajasthan Royals).

© Cricket World 2013