Ramdin Fined And Banned For Spirit Of Cricket Breach


West Indies wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin has been found guilty of conduct contrary to the spirit of the game and has been fined and banned after he claimed a catch that wasn't cleanly taken against Pakistan in the Champions Trophy 2013.

He pleaded not guilty to the charge at an International Cricket Council (ICC) hearing but was nevertheless found guilty of a Level Two breach of the ICC Code of Conduct.

He has been fined 100 percent of his applicable match fee and banned for two ODIs.

The incident occurred at the end of the ninth over of Pakistan's innings when Misbah-ul-Haq edged the ball through to him and despite appearing to clearly drop the ball on to the floor, Ramdin gathered it up and appealed.

It was not until the decision was referred to the third umpire that the batsman was confirmed as not out.

The charge was laid the match officials Tony Hill, Steve Davis, Richard Kettleborough and Nigel Llong while ICC match referee Chris Broad adjudicated at the hearing.

"This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the  responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game," Broad said.

"I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia