< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Rankings Boost For Australia's Ashes Heroes

Ryan Harris
Ryan Harris has moved into third place in the ICC Test bowling rankings following The Ashes
©REUTERS / Action Images

Many of Australia's Ashes-winning players have been rewarded for their performances by making progress in the ICC Player Rankings.

Ryan Harris, who took 22 wickets in the series, which Australia won 5-0, has moved up from fifth to third place between South Africans Vernon Philander and Dale Steyn in the bowling rankings.

Mitchell Johnson's return to form has seen him re-enter the top 10 and Peter Siddle is in sixth place. Stuart Broad, in 10th, is the only England bowler to feature.

Chris Rogers scored two centuries in the series and now lies in a career-best 12th place while Steve Smith, who also reached three figures in Sydney, has jumped to 21st, two places ahead of Brad Haddin, who hit 493 runs in the series.

Australia captain Michael Clarke (363 runs in the series) is the only player from either side in the top 10, in seventh place.

South Africa's AB de Villiers continues to lead the batting rankings with Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ross Taylor in second and third place.

Elsewhere, Angelo Mathews' brilliant unbeaten century in the first Test between Sri Lanka and Pakistan in Abu Dhabi moved him up to 13th place - a career best.

Left-arm fast bowler Junaid Khan is also making progress, moving up seven places to sit in 21st place in the bowling rankings.

ICC Test Rankings following The Ashes and the first Test between Pakistan and Sri Lanka


1. AB de Villiers (South Africa)
2. Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)
3. Ross Taylor (New Zealand)
4. Hashim Amla (South Africa)
5. Cheteshwar Pujara (India)
6. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
7. Michael Clarke (Australia)
8. Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)
9. Younus Khan (Pakistan)
10. Graeme Smith (South Africa)


1. Vernon Philander (South Africa)
2. Dale Steyn (South Africa)
3. Ryan Harris (Australia)
4. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)
5. Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan)
6. Peter Siddle (Australia)
7. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
8. Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
9. Pragyan Ojha (India)
10. Stuart Broad (England)

© Cricket World 2014