< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Rashid added to ICC World XI, Shami replaces Pandya

England's Adil Rashid reacts as he bowls during the one-day international match
©REUTERS/Ross Setford

Wrist-spinner Adil Rashid has been added to the ICC World XI, while fast bowler Mohammed Shami has replaced compatriot Hardik Pandya for the 31 May Twenty20 International against the Windies at Lord’s. All the proceeds from this match will be used to redevelop the stadia in the Caribbean, which were damaged due to hurricanes last year.


For further information about the match and tickets, please click here

Rashid is the second England player in the star-studded line-up after Eoin Morgan was named as the captain. The 30-year-old Rashid has played 28 T20Is in which he has taken 23 wickets. He was also a member of the England side for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which the home side reached the semi-final.

Shami has replaced all-rounder Pandya, who has pulled out due to a viral inflection, and will join Dinesh Karthik as the second India player in the side which also includes one player each from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka, and two players each from New Zealand and Pakistan.

Twenty-seven-year-old Shami has represented India in seven T20Is in which he has picked up eight wickets, while he also featured in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 when India finished as runners-up.

Meanwhile, rival captains Morgan and Carlos Brathwaite, and opposite coaches Andy Flower and Stuart Law will hold their pre-match media conferences in the Film Theatre, Lord’s Museum, on Tuesday, 29 May.

The ICC World XI presser will take place at 13h30, which will be followed by the Windies’ presser at 14h00. For further information, please contact ICC World XI media manager Mike Selvey at +44 7881 502252 and the Windies team media manager Philip Spooner at +1 268 7254 035.

ICC World XI - Eoin Morgan (captain) (England), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Dinesh Karthik (India), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Shoaib Malik (Pakistan), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Luke Ronchi (New Zealand), Adil Rashid (England) and Mohammed Shami (India).

For further information about the match and tickets, please click here

© International Cricket Council