< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ravichandran Ashwin wins ICC Player of the Year award

Ravichandran Ashwin had a fantastic year with both and ball
Ravichandran Ashwin had a fantastic year with both and ball

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin won the top honours in the International Cricket Council awards for his performances in 2015-16.

The 30-year-old bagged both player of the year and Test cricketer of the year awards and has been instrumental in India reclaiming the number one spot in the ICC Test rankings.

During the voting period between 14 September 2015 and 20 September 2016, Ashwin picked 48 wickets from eight Test matches while also scoring 336 runs with the bat an average of 42. He was also third in the list of leading wicket takers in Twenty20 Internationals with 27 wickets from 19 games at an economy of just over six.

South African wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock was named the One-Day International player of the year for scoring 793 runs in 16 games at an average close to 57. He also becomes the second Proteas batsman to win the honour after AB de Villiers.

For smashing four sixes in the final over to help West Indies to their second World T20 title against England, Carlos Brathwaite won the T20 performance of the year while Mohammad Shahzad and Mustafizur Rahman were named ICC Associate Player of the Year and Emerging Player of the Year respectively.

Misbah-ul-Haq was given Spirt of Cricket award and umpire Marais Erasmus won the David Shepherd Trophy.

New Zealand Women's team captain Suzie Bates won both Women's ODI and T20I cricketer of the year.

The ICC also announced both Test and ODI teams of the year captained by Alastair Cook and Virat Kohli respectively.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2016:

1 David Warner, 2 Alastair Cook (capt), 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Joe Root, 5 Adam Voges, 6 Jonny Bairstow, 7 Ben Stokes, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Rangana Herath, 10 Mitchell Starc, 11 Dale Steyn, 12 Steven Smith

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2016:

1 David Warner, 2 Quinton de Kock, 3 Rohit Sharma, 4 Virat Kohli, 5 AB de Villiers, 6 Jos Buttler, 7 Mitchell Marsh, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Sunil Narine, 12 Imran Tahir

© Cricket World 2016

Points Table