< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ravindra Jadeja makes Test comeback

Ravindra Jadeja makes Test comeback
Ravindra Jadeja has been named in the 16-man Test squad for the first two games of the upcoming four-match series against South Africa.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been named in the 16-man Test squad for the first two games of the upcoming four-match series against South Africa.

Jadeja was earlier dropped from the tours of Bangladesh and Sri Lanka after enduring a tough time in 2014 where he averaged 56.41 with the ball and 25.90 with the bat.

However, in the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy, Jadeja is currently the leading wicket-taker with 24 scalps from just two matches, while also scoring two fifties from two innings.

Jadeja will replace the veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh from the Indian squad that toured Sri Lanka.

After staging a comeback in the Bangladesh Test series after almost two years, Singh has so far managed only four wickets from two Tests at an average of 41.25. 

Ishant Sharma, who will miss the first Test due to a one-match suspension has also been named in the squad, as he is expected to recover in time from a hamstring injury, he sustained in the Ranji Trophy game against Haryana.

Meanwhile, off-spinner, Ravichandran Ashwin has been left out of the remaining two One-Day Internationals against South Africa after having suffered a side strain in the first game.

However, the 29-year old spin spearhead has been picked in the Test squad with the hope that he will recover in time.

The selectors have also replaced Umesh Yadav with Sreenath Aravind for the fourth and fifth ODIs against South Africa.

The remainder of the Test squad retains the same core from the recent tour of Sri Lanka with Virat Kohli at the helm of the side.

The selectors have also announced the squad for Board President’s XI with Cheteshwar Pujara as the captain of the side.

South Africa will play the Board President’s XI in a tour match in Mumbai on 30th and 31st October ahead of the first Test which gets underway on 5th November in Mohali.

India’s Squad for first two Test matches:

Virat Kohli (captain), M Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Stuart Binny, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma

ODI squad for the fourth and fifth ODIs:

MS Dhoni (captain), Stuart Binny, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Mohit Sharma, Rohit Sharma, S Aravind, Gurkeerat Singh, Amit Mishra, Harbhajan Singh

Board President's XI Squad:

Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), KL Rahul, Unmukt Chand, Karun Nair, Shreyas Iyer, Naman Ojha, Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Sheldon Jackson, Karn Sharma, Nathu Singh

© Cricket World 2015