< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

RCB Women v Delhi Capitals Women, Match 2: Lanning and Verma lead from the front

Meg Lanning  and  Shafali Verma Delhi Capitals
Meg Lanning (72) and Shafali Verma (84) Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals women started their campaign in the inaugural Women's Premier League (WPL) with a 60 run win over Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Brabourne Stadium on Sunday.

Asked to bat Delhi made 223 for two in their 20 overs and in response Bangalore ended on 163 for eight in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Delhi started off brilliantly. Delhi openers captain Meg Lanning and Shafali Verma added 162 for the first wicket. Together the openers batted for 14.3 overs. Lanning was dismissed for 72 off 43 balls with 14 boundaries and Verma made 84 off 45 balls with 10 boundaries and four sixes. After the opners fell, Marizanne Kapp and Jemimah Rodrigues carried the innings forward. The pair of Kapp and Rodrigues added unbeaten 60 runs for the third wicket. Kapp finished unbeaten on 39 and Rodrigues ended unbeaten on 22. For Bangalore the successful bowler was Heather Knight (2-40).

In their response, Bangalore's openers captain Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Devine added 41 for the opening wicket. Mandhana finished on 35. Ellyse Perry (31) added 33 runs for the third wicket with Disha Kasat. But the innings lost momentum as they lost wickets at regular intervals. Knight held the innings together but she ran out of partners. Knight finished on 34, towards the end Megan Schutt finished unbeaten on 30. Bangalore ended on 163 for eight in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Tara Norris (5-29) and Alice Capsey (2-10).

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals Women: 223-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-162 (Meg Lanning-14.3 ov), 2-163 (Shafali Verma-14.5 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: 163-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Sophie Devine-4.2 ov), 2-56 (Smriti Mandhana-6.3 ov), 3-89 (Ellyse Perry-10.3 ov), 4-90 (Disha Kasat-10.5 ov), 5-93 (Richa Ghosh-12.2 ov), 6-93 (Kanika Ahuja-12.3 ov), 7-96 (Sobhana Asha-13.1 ov), 8-150 (Heather Knight-17.5 ov)


Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Smriti Mandhana (captain), Heather Knight, Sophie Devine, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry, Kanika Ahuja, Sobhana Asha, Megan Schutt, Renuka Thakur, Preeti Bose

Delhi Capitals Women: Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Meg Lanning (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Alice Capsey, Marizanne Kapp, Shafali Verma, Jess Jonassen, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Arundhati Reddy, Tara Norris

Match Details
Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore Women, elected to field
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chirra Ravikanthreddy, N Janani (On-field Umpires); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (TV Umpire); Saurabh Dhote (Reserve Umpire); Rajni Basnet (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023