Record-breaking Gayle century powers Rangpur Riders to maiden BPL title

Chris Gayle scored his 20th century in Twenty20
Chris Gayle scored his 20th century in Twenty20

Rangpur Riders 206-1 (Gayle 146no) beat
Dhaka Dynamites 149-9 (Islam 50) by 57 runs
Final, Bangladesh Premier League, Dhaka

Chris Gayle went on to smash an unbeaten 146 off just 69 deliveries as Rangpur Riders went on to post 206 for one and later restricted Dhaka Dynamites to 149 runs in the final in Dhaka to clinch their maiden Bangladesh Premier League title.

Dhaka won the toss and decided to field first. Shakib Al Hasan (1-26) managed to build pressure on Johnson Charles (3) and eventually succeeded in dismissing him in the second over.

A combination of Shakib, Mosaddek Hossain (0-32) and Sunil Narine (0-18) managed to keep the likes of Gayle (146 not out) and Brendon McCullum (51 not out) quiet as Rangpur Riders reached just 22 for one in the first five overs.

Things could have been even better for the three time champions had Shakib not dropped Gayle in an eventful sixth over from Mosaddek and as a result the former West Indian captain and McCullum smashed three sixes combined to take the score to 41 for one in the powerplay.

The duo struggled to get the momentum and managed just 21 more runs in the next four overs but Khaled Ahmed (0-39) released the pressure in the 11th over when Gayle hit him for two sixes and a four to reach his half-century.

McCullum was hardly going at run a ball but Gayle took it upon himself and plundered seven more maximums in the next five overs and in the process also completed his 100th six in the history of BPL.

He soon completed his 20th T20 century - needing 57 deliveries for it. It was also the first in a BPL final and also became the first batsman to slam fifth century in the history of the tournament.

McCullum completed a patient 42 ball fifty but the innings was all about Gayle, who hit eight more sixes in the final three overs to take the total to 206 for one in the 20 overs. In the process, Gayle also surpassed his own record of most sixes in a T20 inning having struck 18 sixes.

The chase never went on track for Dhaka as Mehedi Maruf (0), Evin Lewis (15), Joe Denly (0) and Kieron Pollard (5) and were reduced to 29 for four.

Shakib (26) and Jahurul Islam (50) were the only batsmen to show some fight but with the required run rate climbing high, the pressure was too much to handle for Dhaka as they succumbed to a 57 run defeat. Nazmul Islam (2-8), Sohag Gazi (2-32) and Isuru Udana (2-25) shared six wickets between them equally.

Gayle was declared the player of the match as well as the man of the series.

© Cricket World 2017