Ricky Ponting Fined For Dissent In Grenada

Australian captain Ricky Ponting has been fined 30 percent of his match fee after being found guilty of showing dissent at an umpire's decision during the second One Day International against the West Indies in Grenada. Reacting to a not out decision in the 23rd over of West Indies' innings when the ball flicked Patrick Browne's pad and was taken by wicket-keeper Luke Ronchi, Ponting turned to umpire Norman Malcolm, standing in his first ODI, and could be seen to say, "What do you mean, not out?" He then appeared to ask the umpire if he was "serious". Ponting pleaded not guilty to the Level 1 offence, but match referee Roshan Mahanama, after examining TV footage, concluded that the captain was guilty. “A captain needs to set the example and it’s not acceptable for any player, let alone a captain, to show dissent at an umpire’s decision," Mahanama explained. “In the preamble to the Laws of Cricket the captains are expected to set the tone of a cricket match and a captain must set that tone for the rest of his team. “Although the player pleaded not guilty, after scrutinising the video footage and taking into consideration the evidence submitted by the umpires I found that his actions were in breach of ICC’s Code of Conduct and decided to fine him 30 per cent of his match fee.”