< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Road Safety World Series 2020: Preview, Cricket Match Schedule, Squads and Fantasy Predictions

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte

All you need to know about the Road Safety World Series 2020 competition comprising 11 T20s to be played by the legends of the game like Brian Lara and Sachin Tendulkar from March 7 to March 22 in India.

If you want to live your childhood, or youth, through cricket, there won't possibly be a better opportunity than the Road Safety World Series 2020, where cricketing veterans from India, Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies and South Africa will join forces to create awareness for road safety through the sport.

The tournament is being organised by the Road Safety Cell of Maharashtra in partnership with the Professional Management Group (PMG) and will see stars like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Brian Lara, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brett Lee, Brad Hodge, Jonty Rhodes, Muttiah Muralitharan, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Ajantha Mendis grace the field again.

Each of the five participating teams will face the other once in the first round. With no playoff etcetera, the top two teams will then clash against each other in the final, set to be played at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai.

The tournament has been given a No Objection Certificate (NOC) by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as well as the International Cricket Council (ICC). All the games will be broadcast on the Colours Cineplex and Colours Kannada Cinema channels on TV and will live stream on Jio and Voot.

The event kicks off with the opening encounter between India Legends and West Indies Legends at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai from 1:30 pm GMT or 7:00 pm Indian Standard Time.


Tournament Predictions


Winner -  India Legends

Top Run Scorer -  Brian Lara (West Indies Legends)

Top Wicket Taker - Zaheer Khan (India Legends)

Most Sixes - Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka Legends)


Here's  a look at the squads of all teams:

India Legends: Sachin Tendulkar (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Bangar, Munaf Patel, Mohammad Kaif, Pragyan Ojha, Sairaj Bahutule, Abey Kuruvilla, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, Sameer Dighe.

South Africa Legends: Jonty Rhodes (Captain), Herschelle Gibbs, Garnett Kruger, Jacques Rudolph, Andrew Hall, Albie Morkel, Johann van der Wath, Lance Klusener, Martin Van Jaarsveld, Morne van Wyk, Paul Harris,  Roger Telemachus, Ryan McLaren.

Australia Legends: Brett Lee (Captain), Brett Geeves, Jason Krejza, Mark Cosgrove, Nathan Reardon, Shane Lee, Travis Birt,  Ben Laughlin, Brad Hodge, Clint Mckay, Xavier Doherty.

West Indies Legends: Brian Lara (Captain), Adam Sanford, Carl Hooper,  Daren Ganga, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ricardo Powell, Ridley Jacobs, Samuel Badree, Suleiman Benn, Tino Best, Dinanath Ramnarine, Pedro Collins, Danza Hyatt.

Sri Lanka Legends: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Captain), Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Marvan Atapattu, Muttiah Muralitharan, Rangana Herath, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Sachithra Senanayake, Chamara Kapugedera, Thilan Thushara,  Upul Chandana, Malinda Warnapura.

Here is the complete schedule of the tournament:

8 March 2020     Match 2                Australia Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends   Wankhede

10 March 2020   Match 3                India Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends           DY Patil Stadium

11 March 2020   Match 4                West Indies Legends vs South Africa Legends      DY Patil Stadium

13 March 2020   Match 5                South Africa Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends            DY Patil Stadium

14 March 2020   Match 6                India Legends vs South Africa Legends    MCA Stadium

16 March 2020   Match 7                Australia Legends vs West Indies Legends             MCA Stadium

17 March 2020   Match 8                West Indies Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends             MCA Stadium

19 March 2020   Match 9                Australia Legends vs South Africa Legends            DY Patil Stadium

20 March 2020   Match 10             India Legends vs Australia Legends           MCA Stadium

22 March 2020   Match 11             Final       Brabourne Stadium

©Cricket World 2020