< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Robbie Frylinck called up to South Africa T20I squad

Aaron Phangiso (right) earns a recall
Aaron Phangiso (right) earns a recall

Uncapped Dolphins all-rounder Robbie Frylinck has earned a call-up to South Africa's Twenty20 International squad for the series against Bangladesh that will be played later this month.

Frylinck has picked 87 wickets from as many T20 games while scoring 677 runs with a highest score of unbeaten 63. He also registered figures of 25 for two from six overs in the tour game against Bangladesh in Bloemfontein.

Chief selector Linda Zondi emphasised on the importance of fast bowling all-rounders and wanted to see how Frylinck responds to the challenge at the highest level.

“The selection of Robbie provides another opportunity to explore our depth in the important all-rounder position,” said Zondi.

”Apart from his bowling strengths he has a proven record as a finisher with the bat."

With Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir rested, the selectors have recalled Beuran Hendricks and Aaron Phangiso to the squad while Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock also makes a return after missing the last series in England.

Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Morne Morkel continue their recovery from their respective injuries while Chris Morris has been given time to prove his fitness at the domestic level.

“Imran remains our first-choice spinner in both the limited overs formats but we also need to develop depth in this important area which is why we have given further opportunities to (Tabraiz) Shamsi and (Aaron) Phangiso," Zondi added.

Meanwhile, pace bowler Wayne Parnell has been ruled out of the ongoing ODI series against Bangladesh and Lions' allrounder Wiaan Mulder has been named as his replacement in the squad.

South Africa T20I squad:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Robbie Frylinck, Beuran Hendricks, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi

© Cricket World 2017