< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ro'hit' leads India to their third biggest ODI win against WINDIES

Rohit Sharma 162 against the WINDIES today

India received a much-required wake up call in the 3rd ODI and that has really sprung them to action. The team played like a well-oiled machine today and did not allow the Windies to even crawl their way back into the match.



Match Summary

India 377 - 5 (Rohit Sharma 162, Ambati Rayudu 100, Kemar Roach 2-74)

West Indies 153 (Jason Holder 54*; Kuldeep Yadav 3-42, Khaleel Ahmed 3-13)

Result - India won by 224 runs


This ODI would be remembered for a slew of records. This is India's third biggest margin of victory by runs in ODIs. This is India's second biggest ODI victory over the Windies.

This is also only the fourth occasion when an Indian batsman has outscored the opposition team. Windies fell short of Rohit Sharma's 162-run knock by 9 runs. Rohit Sharma also broke Sachin Tendulkar's record of ODI sixes in this match.

India got off to a decent start but this is the third time in a row that Shikhar Dhawan got out after getting a start. Virat Kohli had a rare failure in this match.

After Kohli's departure, Rohit Sharma and Ambati Rayudu put up a 200 run + 4th wicket partnership, both notching centuries. MS Dhoni played a 15 ball 23-run cameo as the team posted a massive total of 377.

The scoreboard pressure got to the Windies as two of their top three batsmen were run out. Khaleel Ahmed unsettled the Windies middle order, bagging the wickets of Marlon Samuels, Shimron Hetmyer and Rovman Powell. Despite Jason Holder's unbeaten half-century, Kuldeep Yadav cleaned up the tale to hand India a 224-run win.

India - Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Jasprit Bumrah

West Indies - Kieran Powell, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shai Hope(wk), Marlon Samuels, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Jason Holder(c), Fabian Allen, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach

©Cricket World 2018