< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Rohit, Pandya make it to India Test squad to face Sri Lanka

Hardik Pandya has been rewarded with a Test place
Hardik Pandya has been rewarded with a Test place

Uncapped all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been included in the 16-man squad that will tour Sri Lanka for a three-match Test series.

Pandya has already featured in 17 One-Day Internationals and 19 Twenty20 Internationals for India and had an impressive Champions Trophy campaign that includes a 43-ball 76 runs against Pakistan in the final.

Pandya also snared six wickets from the four matches in the recently concluded ODI series in West Indies but is yet to make an appearance in the longer format.

Also, returning to the squad are Mumbai batsman Rohit Sharma and Karnataka youngster Lokesh Rahul.

Rohit, who was sidelined for almost six months with a injury returned for Champions Trophy which saw him amass 304 runs from five matches but was rested for the West Indies tour as a precautionary measure. He will take the place of Karun Nair, who notched a triple century during the Test series against England at home.

Meanwhile, Rahul, who underwent a surgery on his shoulder missed the Indian Premier League tournament and the Champions Trophy but is now back in the squad despite not playing any competitive cricket since the Test series against Australia.

Murali Vijay, who was suffering from a shoulder injury has retained his place along with Abhinav Mukund with Shikhar Dhawan missing out despite his rich vein of form in limited overs format.

Following the conclusion of Test series, India will play five match ODI series and a solitary T20I against Sri Lanka as well.

India squad for Test series against Sri Lanka:

Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund

© Cricket World 2017