< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Rohit Sharma, Shami recalled for India's Champions Trophy campaign

Rohit Sharma has returned to the Indian squad
Rohit Sharma has returned to the Indian squad

India have finally named their 15-member squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy title defence with Rohit Sharma and Mohammad Shami earning a recall.

The defending champions had earlier missed out on the 25th April deadline for naming the squad and even threatened to pull out of the tournament to express their unhappiness on the new revenue model put forward by the International Cricket Council.

Following a Special General Meeting conducted on Sunday, it was announced that India will take part in the tournament scheduled to be played in June and July much to the relief of the administrators and advertisers.

Rohit last played an international game during the One-Day International series against New Zealand in October last year and was sidelined with a thigh injury before returning to action in April for the Indian Premier League.

He will be among the front-line choice for opening the innings along with Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane after Lokesh Rahul was ruled out of the tournament as he is set to undergo a surgery in UK.

Skipper Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav along with MS Dhoni will form the remaining of the batting line-up as India bid to defend their title that they won in 2013 against England.

Hardik Pandya will take the all-rounder role while Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin will handle the spin bowling responsibility. Shami, who last played an ODI for India during the 2015 World Cup will lead the pace attack that also features Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.

The selectors have also named Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Kuldeep Yadav and Shardul Thakur on the standby and they will train in the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore.

India will kick start their campaign with a clash against arch-rival Pakistan in Birmingham on 4th June.

India squad for Champions Trophy:

Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey

© Cricket World 2017