< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Rohit slams century as India wrap up series 4-1


India 243-3 (Rohit 125) beat
Australia 242-9 (Warner 53) by seven wickets
Fifth One-Day International in Nagpur

Rohit Sharma continued his good run with a blistering century to help India chased down 243 runs against Australia and win the fifth One-Day International in Nagpur by seven wickets to seal a 4-1 series victory.

Chasing their target, India got off to a cautious start off 12 for naught in the first three overs with Rohit (125) not even getting off the mark in his first 14 deliveries. However, the Mumbai batsman struck back to back boundaries in the fourth over to gain some momentum and India ended the first powerplay with a score of 43 for naught as Ajinkya Rahane (61) going solid at the other end.

The 50-run opening stand between the duo came off just 69 deliveries and Rohit soon stepped up the accelerator as the boundaries were coming freely. With a six and a couple of boundaries, Rohit completed his half-century and also the third consecutive 100 run stand with Rahane.

Rahane too followed the suit and reached his fourth consecutive half-century before he was trapped LBW by Nathan Coulter-Nile (1-42).

Rohit soon completed 6,000 runs in ODIs - the third quickest Indian to the milestone and even went on to notch his 14th ODI century. He shared a 99 run stand with Virat Kohli (39) but both batsmen were dismissed by Adam Zampa (2-59) in a span of four deliveries but that did not stop India from achieving the target in 42.5 overs with seven wickets in hand.

Earlier, it was Australia who won the toss and decided to bat first. Even though David Warner (53) and Aaron Finch (32) gave yet another solid start, the spinners, Axar Patel (3-38), Kedar Jadhav (1-48) and Kuldeep Yadav (0-48) controlled the middle overs and helped India make a brilliant comeback to restrict Australia to 242 for nine.

The win also means India have reclaimed the number one ranking in ODIs as Australia succumb to yet another away defeat.

Rohit was named the player of the match while Pandya won the player of the series award.

© Cricket World 2017