< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Root rested, Moeen Ali recalled, Topley called up for England

Moeen Ali pictured during the 2015 World Cup
Moeen Ali is back in both the T20I and ODI squads to take on England
©REUTERS / Action Images

England have rested Joe Root for the Twenty20 and One-Day International series against Australia, recalling Moeen Ali and including uncapped pacer Reece Topley in the T20 squad.

Ali missed the 3-2 series win over New Zealand earlier in the summer but is expected bat at the top of the order alongside Nottinghamshire's Alex Hales with Surrey's Jason Roy, who partnered Hales against New Zealand, also in both squads.

Essex left-armer Topley makes a 13-man Twenty20 squad for the one-off game in Cardiff as the only uncapped member of a young squad.

The 14-man ODI squad sees Ben Stokes included despite speculation that he could also be rested after playing all five Ashes Tests.

Fellow Ashes winners Jos Buttler and Steven Finn are in both squads with Mark Wood in the ODI squad.

Leg-spinner Adil Rashid, who was an unused member of England's Ashes squad, is the lone specialist spinner named for both the T20 and ODIs although Ali will be pressed into action as a supporting spinner if required.

"We have made some significant progress in our limited overs cricket this summer and the next six games allow these players to continue testing themselves against one of the very best sides in the world," National Selector James Whitaker said.

"This is primarily a young group of players and the next three weeks will provide them with valuable experience as we continue to identify players who can take our limited overs cricket forward over the next four years."

Australia begin their preparations for the two series by heading to Ireland for an ODI on Thursday 27th August.

Cardiff hosts the T20I on Monday 31st August before the ODI series heads to Southampton, Lord's, Manchester, Headingley and then back to Manchester for the final game on 13th September.

England T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

© Cricket World 2015