< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Ross Taylor Joins Select Group With Third Straight Ton

Ross Taylor
Ross Taylor is the sixth man to score centuries in three ODIs in a row
©REUTERS / Action Images

Scoring a hundred in any format is always special for a batsman and the match remains in the memories of the fans and that cricketer.

Scoring two in two is even more special and then comes some players who achieved a unique and one of the most rare records in one-day cricket that only a handful of the cricketers have been able to achieve even after nearly 44 years of One-Day Internationals.

Ross Taylor was in sublime form during India’s visit to New Zealand. He thrashed all of the Indian bowlers around the park and scored at will. He stamped his dream run in ODIs with scores like 55, 57, 17 and then scored back-to-back hundreds by scoring 112 not out and 102.

11 months later, he played his next ODI but that didn’t stop him from scoring runs. He registered another 100 against Pakistan in the first ODI and made it three centuries in three consecutive innings to become only the sixth batsman in history to repeat this feat.

The following table contains the names of batsmen who have scored three consecutive ODI centuries.





Zaheer Abbas


108, 105, 113 vs India


Saeed Anwar


107 vs Sri Lanka
131 vs West Indies
111 vs Sri Lanka


Herschelle Gibbs

South Africa

116 vs Kenya
116* vs India
153 vs Bangladesh


AB de Villiers

South Africa

114, 102* vs India
102 vs West Indies


Quinton de Kock

South Africa

135, 106, 101 vs India


Ross Taylor

New Zealand

112*, 100 vs India
105* vs Pakistan


  • So far players from Pakistan, South Africa and New Zealand have been able to achieve this record
  • Zaheer Abbass was the first player to score back-to-back centuries in three ODIs
  • Ross Taylor became the first player from New Zealand and the first from any country except Pakistan or South Africa to achieve this feat
  • Countries with most players to achieve this feat: South Africa 3, Pakistan 2, New Zealand 1
  • The latest three instances have been recorded after 2010
  • Herschelle Gibbs scored all three of his consecutive centuries against different teams
  • Zaheer Abbass and Quinton de Kock scored all three of their consecutive hundreds against the same opposition, India
  • Saeed Anwar scored his 3 consecutive hundreds on the same ground, Sharjah Cricket Stadium
  • Shortest time taken to achieve the feat: Saeed Anwar (4 days)
  • Longest time taken to achieve the feat: Ross Taylor (315 days)

© Cricket World 2014