< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ross Taylor, Mitchell Santner to miss second Test against Australia

Mitchell Santner sustained the injury during the ODI series against Australia.
Mitchell Santner sustained the injury during the ODI series against Australia.
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand cricketers Ross Taylor and Mitchell Santner are all set to miss the second Test against Australia in Christchurch after having failed to fully recover from their respective injuries.

Taylor suffered from a side strain while playing in the third Twenty20 International against Pakistan in Wellington and missed the subsequent One-Day International series along with the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy.

All-rounder Santner missed the first Test with a bone bruise in his right foot which he picked up in the second ODI against Australia.

Mark Craig, who replaced Santner for the first Test will continue to remain with squad along with Henry Nicholls who continues to fill in for Taylor.

Nicholls, who made his debut in the recently concluded first Test against Australia scored a half-century in the second innings while Craig managed to pick two wickets for 153 runs from 35.2 overs.

New Zealand coach Mike Hesson revealed that both Taylor and Santner are on their way to recover fully for the upcoming ICC World T20 in India.

"Everyone wants to play against Australia, so both guys are understandably disappointed to be missing out.

"The players and the medical staff worked hard to be available for the match, but in the end ran out of time.

"Ross (Taylor) is back hitting balls again and is targeting a return in the Island of Origin match before we head away to the ICC World Twenty20.

"Mitch (Mitchell Santner) is on track to be fit for the ICC World Twenty20 and we'll continue to monitor both players closely."

In the first Test, New Zealand were thoroughly outclassed by Australia and went on suffer an innings defeat at home for the first time since 1997.

To draw the series level, the Black Caps must win the second Test which will be played between 20th and 24th February in Christchurch.

New Zealand squad for second Test:

Brendon McCullum (captain), Tom Latham, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling, Luke Ronchi, Mark Craig, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult.

© Cricket World 2016