< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Royal London One-day Cup Results and Reactions - April 24th 2019

©Cricket World / John Mallett

Round up of the Royal London One-day cup.

Wins for Worcestershire, Derbyshire, Lancashire and Somerset all via Duckworth Lewis Method.


Derbyshire captain Billy Godleman struck a second successive century as his side secured a dramatic last-ball Royal London One-Day Cup victory against Leicestershire at Grace Road.

Godleman continued his fine form, the left-hander has now scored 306 runs in three innings, to pace Derbyshire’s pursuit with 106 from 115 balls, before he was run out in the final over to leave the contest on a knife edge.

The visitors required six from the final two balls and Leus Du Plooy guided them home pulling the penultimate delivery for four before Matt Critchley’s despairing dive at the non-striker’s end was enough to complete the winning run and a seven-wicket success.

Saqib Mahmood became the first Lancashire bowler to claim six wickets in a List A match for 21 years in a 45-run rain-affected win over Northamptonshire.

Mahmood returned a career-best six for 37 as the Steelbacks were bowled out for 269 at Emirates Old Trafford.

The 22-year-old England Lions seamer was still in nappies when his coach Glen Chapple was the last Red Rose bowler to achieve the feat and he had further reason to smile when openers Haseeb Hameed and Keaton Jennings broke the back of the chase in a 130-run stand.

Somerset continued their impressive start to the tournament with a third successive win over the previously unbeaten Sussex at Hove.

Half-centuries from James Hildreth (82), Azhar Ali (68) and Lewis Gregory (50) helped Somerset to a competitive 283 for eight on a slow wicket.

Sussex managed 62 for four in response before the rain set and ensured Somerset had to wait before their unbeaten start was confirmed by 68 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method.

Durham suffered their first defeat of the campaign by four wickets to Worcestershire Rapids on the DLS method.

A half-century partnership between Ross Whiteley and Ben Cox was enough to ensure the Rapids hauled in a revised target with 10 balls to spare.

Results and Reactions

Worcestershire v Durham at Blackfinch New Road, Worcester.

Worcestershire 152 - 6

Durham 114 - 4

Result - Worcestershire win by 4 wickets (DLS method) (D/L)

Match Report

Worcestershire - Hamish Rutherford, Riki Wessels, Tom Fell, Daryl Mitchell, Brett D'Oliveira(c), Ben Cox(wk), Ross Whiteley, Ed Barnard, Wayne Parnell, Josh Tongue, Charlie Morris

Durham - Graham Clark, Scott Steel, Alex Lees, Cameron Bancroft(c)(wk), Gareth Harte, Jack Burnham, Brydon Carse, Liam Trevaskis, Ben Raine, Matthew Potts, Matthew Salisbury

Leicestershire v Derbyshire at Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, Leicester.

Leicestershire 312 - 8

Derbyshire 266 - 3

Result - Derbyshire win by 7 wickets (DLS Method) (D/L)

Match Report

Leicestershire - Harry Dearden, Paul Horton(c), Mark Cosgrove, Colin Ackermann, Lewis Hill(wk), Tom Taylor, Arron Lilley, Dieter Klein, Callum Parkinson, Gavin Griffiths, Chris Wright

Derbyshire - Billy Godleman(c), Luis Reece, Tom Lace, Wayne Madsen, Alex Hughes, Matthew Critchley, Leus du Plooy, Harvey Hosein(wk), Sam Conners, Alfie Gleadall, Mark Watt

Lancashire v Northamptonshire at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester.

Lancashire 164 - 2

Northamptonshire 69 all out

Result - Lancashire win by 45 runs (DLS Method) (D/L)

Match Report

Lancashire- Keaton Jennings, Haseeb Hameed, Steven Croft, Glenn Maxwell, Dane Vilas(c)(wk), Rob Jones, Josh Bohannon, Liam Hurt, Saqib Mahmood, Graham Onions, Matthew Parkinson

Northamptonshire - Richard Levi, Ricardo Vasconcelos, Josh Cobb, Alex Wakely(c), Adam Rossington(wk), Jason Holder, Rob Keogh, Luke Procter, Saif Zaib, Ben Sanderson, Blessing Muzarabani

Sussex v Somerset at The 1st Central County Ground, Hove.

Sussex First 62 - 4

Somerset 283 - 8

Result - Somerset win by 68 runs (DLS Method) (D/L)

Match Report

Sussex - Philip Salt, Stiaan van Zyl, Laurie Evans, Harry Finch, Ben Brown(c)(wk), David Wiese, Chris Jordan, George Garton, Will Beer, Danny Briggs, Mir Hamza

Somerset - Azhar Ali, Tom Banton(wk), Peter Trego, James Hildreth, Tom Abell(c), George Bartlett, Lewis Gregory, Roelof van der Merwe, Craig Overton, Tim Groenewald, Josh Davey

© Cricket World 2019