< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Royal London One-day Cup Results and Reactions - April 28th 2019

Royal London One-day Cup Results and Reactions - April 28th 2019
Royal London One-day Cup Results and Reactions - April 28th 2019
©Cricket World - John Mallett

Round up of the Royal London One-day cup.

Wins for Warwickshire, Nottinghamshire, Lancashire, Durham, Gloucestershire, Glamorgan and Essex.

Round up

Notts Outlaws maintained the last remaining perfect record in the Royal London One-Day Cup following a four-wicket win over Yorkshire at a sold-out Trent Bridge.

The Outlaws had passed 400 in their previous two home games of the tournament but it was their bowlers who took centre stage in front of almost 15,000 spectators to bowl out the Vikings for 213.

Jake Ball was the pick of the bowlers with three for 32 before the home side’s batsmen made light work of the modest total with captain Steven Mullaney’s unbeaten 54 guiding them home with 15.3 overs to spare.

The Outlaws’ fifth successive win leaves them a game clear at the top of the North Group with Durham their closest challengers after Cameron Bancroft’s team secured a three-wicket home win over Derbyshire.

Alex Lees hit a third successive half-century and Michael Richardson’s unbeaten 72 ensured the Durham win after Derbyshire where restricted to 254 for eight.

Champions Hampshire suffered a first defeat as experienced Essex duo Ryan ten Doeschate and Ravi Bopara did the damage with the bat, scoring 89 apiece, in a 111-run win at the CloudFM County Ground in Chelmsford.

Bopara then claimed three wickets, along with four from Matt Coles, as Hampshire never came close to reeling in the 339 for six target.   

Sam Hain breathed life into Warwickshire’s campaign with a superb 161 from 140 balls as the Bears secured their first win of the competition by 34 runs against Worcestershire.

Hain’s highest List A score included 10 fours and six sixes as the Bears piled up 315 for five – their highest 50-over total against the Rapids – before captain Jeetan Patel’s three wickets engineered a collapse of seven for 59.

Wayne Parnell crashed 75 from 56 balls from number nine to keep the Bears sweating before he was last man out with 16 balls remaining.

Gloucestershire inflicted Somerset’s first defeat with a last-over win by four wickets at Bristol.

Benny Howell’s three wickets restricted Somerset to 241 for nine and a tense chase was completed thanks to an unbeaten 49-run stand, from 29 balls, between Jack Taylor and Ryan Higgins.

Glamorgan were indebted to a Billy Root century and an all-round Marchant de Lange display as they claimed a first win by 64 runs against Surrey.

Root hit an unbeaten 113 and combined in an unbroken stand of the same value with De Lange (58 not out), before the South African ripped through the Surrey order with five for 61.

Saqib Mahmood became the first Lancashire bowler to claim five wickets in back-to-back List A matches in a nine-wicket win against Leicestershire at Emirates Old Trafford.

Leicestershire were skittled for 80, which the hosts knocked off in 19 overs to claim a third successive win.

Results and Reactions


Worcestershire v Warwickshire at Blackfinch New Road, Worcester.

Worcestershire 281 all out

Warwickshire 315 - 5

Result - Warwickshire win by 34 runs

Worcestershire - Hamish Rutherford, Riki Wessels, Tom Fell, Daryl Mitchell, Brett D'Oliveira(c), Ben Cox(wk), Ross Whiteley, Ed Barnard, Wayne Parnell, Josh Tongue, Charlie Morris

Warwickshire - Ed Pollock, Dominic Sibley, Sam Hain, Will Rhodes, Liam Banks, Alex Thomson, Aaron Thomason, Alex Mellor(wk), Henry Brookes, Jeetan Patel(c), Oliver Hannon-Dalby

Nottinghamshire v Yorkshire at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

Nottinghamshire 214 - 6

Yorkshire 213 all out

Result - Nottinghamshire win by 4 wickets

Nottinghamshire - Chris Nash, Joe Clarke, Ben Duckett, Jake Libby, Tom Moores(wk), Steven Mullaney(c), Samit Patel, Luke Fletcher, James Pattinson, Matthew Carter, Jake Ball

Yorkshire - Adam Lyth, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Harry Brook, Gary Ballance, Jack Leaning, Jonathan Tattersall(wk), Matthew Waite, Steven Patterson(c), Mathew Pillans, Josh Poysden, Duanne Olivier

Lancashire v Leicestershire at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester.

Lancashire 83 - 1

Leicestershire 80 all out

Result - Lancashire win by 9 wickets

Lancashire - Keaton Jennings, Haseeb Hameed, Steven Croft, Glenn Maxwell, Dane Vilas(c)(wk), Rob Jones, Josh Bohannon, Liam Hurt, Saqib Mahmood, James Anderson, Matthew Parkinson

Leicestershire - Harry Dearden, Paul Horton(c), Mark Cosgrove, Colin Ackermann, Lewis Hill(wk), Arron Lilley, Callum Parkinson, Ben Mike, Gavin Griffiths, Dieter Klein, Chris Wright

Durham v Derbyshire at Emirates Riverside, Chester-le-Street.

Durham 260 - 7

Derbyshire 255 - 8

Result - Durham win by 3 wickets

Match Report

Durham - Scott Steel, Graham Clark, Alex Lees, Cameron Bancroft(c)(wk), Michael Richardson, Jack Burnham, Brydon Carse, Liam Trevaskis, Ben Raine, James Weighell, Matthew Salisbury

Derbyshire - Luis Reece, Billy Godleman(c), Wayne Madsen, Leus du Plooy, Matthew Critchley, Tom Lace, Alex Hughes, Harvey Hosein(wk), Sam Conners, Tony Palladino, Ravi Rampaul

Gloucestershire v Somerset at The Bristol County Ground, Bristol.

Gloucestershire 246 - 6

Somerset 242 - 9

Result - Gloucestershire win by 4 wickets

Match Report

Gloucestershire - Miles Hammond, Chris Dent(c), Gareth Roderick(wk), James Bracey, Benny Howell, Jack Taylor, Ryan Higgins, Graeme van Buuren, Tom Smith, David Payne, Matt Taylor

Somerset- Azhar Ali, Tom Banton(wk), Peter Trego, James Hildreth, Tom Abell(c), George Bartlett, Lewis Gregory, Craig Overton, Roelof van der Merwe, Tim Groenewald, Josh Davey

Glamorgan v Surrey at Sophia Gardens Cardiff, Cardiff.

Glamorgan 323 - 7

Surrey 259 all out

Result - Glamorgan win by 64 runs

Glamorgan - Jeremy Lawlor, Marnus Labuschagne, Chris Cooke(c)(wk), David Lloyd, Billy Root, Charlie Hemphrey, Kiran Carlson, Graham Wagg, Marchant de Lange, Timm van der Gugten, Michael Hogan

Surrey - Mark Stoneman, Will Jacks, Dean Elgar, Rory Burns(c), Ben Foakes(wk), Jamie Smith, Jordan Clark, Gareth Batty, Conor McKerr, Morne Morkel, Stuart Meaker

Essex v Hampshire at The Cloudfm County Ground, Chelmsford.

Essex 341 - 6

Hampshire 230 all out

Result - Essex win by 111 runs

Essex - Rishi Patel, Alastair Cook, Tom Westley, Dan Lawrence, Ravi Bopara, Ryan ten Doeschate(c), Paul Walter, Robbie White(wk), Matt Coles, Peter Siddle, Jamie Porter

Hampshire - Tom Alsop(wk), Aiden Markram, James Vince(c), Sam Northeast, Rilee Rossouw, Liam Dawson, James Fuller, Gareth Berg, Kyle Abbott, Brad Wheal, Mason Crane

© Cricket World 2019