Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Rubel Hossain To Debut As Tigers Try To Stay Positive

	Rubel Hossain To Debut As Tigers Try To Stay Positive
Rubel Hossain To Debut As Tigers Try To Stay Positive
©REUTERS/Andrew Biraj (BANGLADESH) Picture Supplied by Action Images

19-year-old fast bowler Rubel Hossain will make his One Day International debut when Bangladesh take on Sri Lanka in the final ODI tri-series group game and fellow pacer Mashrafe Mortaza says that the side are maintaining positive, despite a 38-run loss to Zimbabwe in their first match.

"There is pressure obviously when you play a big team like Sri Lanka but I hope that doesn't affect us tomorrow," he said. It is like a final for us because we can only stay in the tournament if we win.

"We will stay positive. Sri Lanka are a top side but our survival depends on beating them. Positive cricket for us would be to do the right things and sticking to the game plan in all departments.

Hossain says he will play his natural game in Mirpur.

"(I hope) to bowl the best I can," he said. "The team management has told me to be my natural self and my target is to bowl in my natural style. I feel fit and strong and I am really excited. I haven't told my mother about my debut match yet. She'll be the happiest person when she sees me out there.

Bangladesh can expect no let up from Sri Lanka, however, with captain Mahela Jayawardene looking for another win after they thumped Zimbabwe by 130 runs.

"To us it is important to win every match we play and we always try to do that," he said. "We want our players to continue improving and get better all the time. We don't want any let ups.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Zunaed Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Roqibul Hassan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Naaem Islam, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mahbubul Alam, Rubel Hossain

Sri Lanka (from): Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Jehan Mubarak, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Thilina Kandamby, Dilhara Fernando, Dammika Prasad

© Cricket World 2009




Add to Mixx!

submit to reddit