Ryder Double Helps New Zealand Take Control

	 Ryder Double Helps New Zealand Take Control
Ryder Double Helps New Zealand Take Control
©REUTERS/Anthony Phelps (NEW ZEALAND) Picture supplied by Action Images

New Zealand 619-9 dec (Ryder 201, Taylor 151, McCullum 115) v

India 79-3 (Vettori 2-16)

Second Test, McLean Park, Napier, day two: stumps
By Jim White

Jesse Ryder converted his overnight 137 into a double-century and New Zealand picked up three wickets to leave them in complete control of the second Test against India on day two in Napier.

Ryder, who drove exquisitely throughout his knock, made 201 before New Zealand declared on 619 for nine and they followed that with the wickets of Gautam Gambhir (16), Virender Sehwag (34) and Ishant Sharma (0) to leave India on 79 for three overnight.

Ryder continued his serene progress, hitting 24 fours and a six in his 328-ball stay at the crease and he received excellent support from Brendon McCullum, who hit 115 in 140 balls while James Franklin (52) and Daniel Vettori (55) also frustrated India's attempts to bowl New Zealand out.

Ryder's 201, also the highest Test score at McLean Park, was the 15th Test double-century by a New Zealander while McCullum's century was his first against an established Test side. His previous efforts came against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh respectively.

Zaheer Khan, who finally dismissed Ryder, and Sharma picked up three wickets apiece before Vettori closed the innings when Jeetan Patel was caught by Sharma off of Harbhajan Singh for one.

Sehwag then blasted five fours and a six in 25 balls but Vettori had him well caught behind as he attempted another maximum, Gambhir was caught by Vettori at mid-off off Patel and nightwatchman Sharma was trapped in front by Vettori.

Rahul Dravid (21) and Sachin Tendulkar (0) were the not out batsmen, Dravid in particular playing some superb strokes on the off side.

Ross Taylor scored a century on day one as New Zealand hit back from being reduced to 29 for three early on. Now India, 1-0 up in the series, must do the same.

© Cricket World 2009