< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v IND 1st Test Day 3: India take control on a chaotic day

India took complete control of the first Test of the Freedom Series against host South Africa on the third day where 18 wickets fell at the SuperSport Park in Centurion.

On Tuesday, India resumed at their score of 272 for three but were bowled out for 327. In their response South Africa were shot out for 197 to hand India a lead of 130. When stumps were drawn, India wer at 16 for one with an overall lead of 146.

Earlier, India's middle and lower-order were blown away by South Africa's pace bowlers. India lost their last seven wickets for just 55 runs. Overnight batter Lokesh Rahul fell for 123, while his partner Ajinkya Rahane made 48 and fell soon after. India's lower-order failed to get going. South Africa's key bowlers were Lungi Ngidi (6-71) and Kagiso Rabada (3-72) as they combined well to dismss India.

In their response, South Africa were reduced to 32 for four. It required a 72 run fifth wicket stand between Temba Bavuma (52: 103b, 10x4) and Quinton de Kock (34) to revive the innings. But after de Kock fell, there was another collapse. At 144 for seven it seemed like the end was nigh. But Marco Jansen and Rabada combined to add 37 for the eighth wicket. Rabada fell to become Mohammed Shami's 200th Test scalp. In the end South Africa was bowled out for 197 to hand India a 130 run lead.

For India the wicket-takers were Shami (5-44), Shardul Thakur (2-51) and Jasprit Bumrah (2-16).

India in their response started cautiously but lost opener Mayank Agarwal in the final over of the day for four. India sent in night watchman Shardul Thakur to calm nerves. At close India were at 16 for one with an overall lead of 146.

Match Summary

South Africa 197/10 (62.3 ov)

India 327/10 (105.3 ov) & *16/1 (6 ov)

Day Break : Day 3 India lead by 146 runs.


Mohammad Shami addressed a virtual press conference in Centurion after Day 3 of the 1st Test against South Africa


India 1st Innings: 327
Fall of wickets: 4-278 (KL Rahul-93.6 ov), 5-291 (Ajinkya Rahane-96.4 ov), 6-296 (Ravichandran Ashwin-97.4 ov), 7-296 (Rishabh Pant-98.2 ov), 8-304 (Shardul Thakur-99.6 ov), 9-308 (Mohammed Shami-100.5 ov), 10-327 (Jasprit Bumrah-105.3 ov)

South Africa 1st Innings: 197 (62.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Dean Elgar- 0.5 ov), 2-25 (Keegan Petersen-7.3 ov), 3-30 (Aiden Markram-11.5 ov), 4-32 (Rassie van der Dussen-12.5 ov), 5-104 (Quinton de Kock-34.1 ov), 6-133 (Wiaan Mulder-42.6 ov), 7-144 (Temba Bavuma-46.4 ov), 8-181 (Marco Jansen-56.6 ov), 9-193 (Kagiso Rabada-61.5 ov), 10-197 (Keshav Maharaj-62.3 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 16-1 (6)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Mayank Agarwal-5.1 ov)

End Of Day Three: India leads by 146 runs

Playing XIs

South Africa - Dean Elgar(c)Aiden MarkramKeegan PetersenRassie van der DussenTemba BavumaQuinton de Kock(wk)Wiaan MulderMarco JansenKeshav MaharajKagiso RabadaLungi Ngidi

India - Mayank AgarwalKL RahulCheteshwar PujaraVirat Kohli(c)Ajinkya RahaneRishabh Pant(wk)Ravichandran AshwinShardul ThakurMohammed ShamiJasprit Bumrah Mohammed Siraj

Match Details

Start Time: 08:00

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: SuperSport Park, Centurion

Officials: Adrian Holdstock, Marais Erasmus (On-field Umpires); Allahudien Paleker (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Fourth Umpire); Andrew Pycroft (Match-referee)  

©Cricket World 2021