< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v IND 1st Test Day 5: India breach fortress Centurion to take 1-0 lead

India registered their first-ever Test win at the SuperSport Park in Centurion over host South Africa as they took a 1-0 lead in the 2021-22 Freedom Series.

On the final day of the first Test, India wrapped up the win just after lunch as they trounced South Africa by 113 runs on Thursday. This was India's first-ever Test win at Centurion and only the third time South Africa has lost a Test here since its readmission in 1991-92.

South Africa was finally bowled out for 191 in 68 overs right after lunch on the fifth and final day.

Earlier, South Africa resumed at their overnight score of 94 for four. Captain Dean Elgar held on for a while with his deputy Temba Bavuma. The first hour belonged to Elgar and Bavuma. But right when it looked like South Africa would be able to walk away with some honours, Elgar was trapped by Jasprit Bumrah. Then Quinton de Kock teamed up with Bavuma as they added 31 runs for the sixth wicket.

KL Rahul addressed a virtual press conference in Centurion after India win the 1st Test against South Africa


Just when de Kock appeared to be getting aggressive, Mohammed Siraj castled him. In the very next over, Wiaan Mulder was sent back by Mohammed Shami.

At lunch South Africa were at 182 for seven.

Right after lunch, Marco Jansen got a couple of boundaries. But Jansen fell in the very first over at the hands of Shami. In the very next over Ravichandran snared both Kagiso Rabada and Lungi Ngidi. South Africa was bowled out for 191 in 68 overs.

For India the key wicket-takers were Jasprit Bumrah (3-50), Mohammed Shami (3-63), Mohammed Siraj (2-47) and Ashwin (2-18).

India opener Lokesh Rahul was named the player of the match.

The second Test match of the series starts on 3 January 2022 at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 327
South Africa 1st Innings: 197 (62.3)
India 2nd Innings: 174 (50.3)

South Africa 2nd Innings: 191 (68)
Fall of wickets: 5-130 (Dean Elgar-50.5 ov), 6-161 (Quinton de Kock-59.3 ov), 7-164 (Wiaan Mulder-60.2 ov), 8-190 (Marco Jansen-66.5 ov), 9-191 (Kagiso Rabada-67.5 ov), 10-191 (Lungi Ngidi-67.6 ov)

Result: India won by 113 runs


Playing XIs

South AfricaDean Elgar(c)Aiden MarkramKeegan PetersenRassie van der DussenTemba BavumaQuinton de Kock(wk)Wiaan MulderMarco JansenKeshav MaharajKagiso RabadaLungi Ngidi

IndiaMayank AgarwalKL RahulCheteshwar PujaraVirat Kohli(c)Ajinkya RahaneRishabh Pant(wk)Ravichandran AshwinShardul ThakurMohammed ShamiJasprit Bumrah Mohammed Siraj

Match Details

Start Time: 22:00 PM

TossBangladesh won the toss & elected to field

Venue: Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, Mount Maunganui

OfficialsAdrian Holdstock, Marais Erasmus (On-field Umpires); Allahudien Paleker (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Fourth Umpire); Andrew Pycroft (Match-referee)  

©Cricket World 2021