< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v Ind 2nd Test Day 3: Both South Africa and India eye history on Day 4

South Africa needs a further 122 runs to level the three-match Test series against India.

On the third day of the second Test, South Africa ended on 118 for two when stumps were drawn, needing a further 122 runs to level the series. Earlier, India was bowled out for 266, to end with an overall lead of 239.

Earlier, India started off aggressively as Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane put on 111 runs for the third wicket. The senior pair batted with purpose as runs came freely in the opening hour.

Rahane was first to fall for 58 off 78 balls with eight boundaries and a six. Pujara was the next one to fall for 53 off 86 balls with 10 boundaries.

Then Rishabh Pant fell to a reckless shot. With India struggling at 167 for five, Ravichandran Ashwin walked in.

Ashwin used his long handle to good effect, but after his dismissal Shardul Thakur took over. Thakur and Hanuma Vihari added 41 runs for the seventh wicket.

Towards the end Vihari finished on an unbeaten 40 as India ended on 266 in 60.1 overs.

For South Africa the key wicket-takers were Kagiso Rabada (3-77), Lungi Ngidi (3-43) and Marco Jansen (3-67).

The chase for South Africa began confidently. Aiden Markram started aggressively. Then Markram became the first to fall for 31 off Thakur. Then there was a 46 run stand for the second wicket between Keegan Petersen and Dean Elgar. Ravichandran Ashwin struck as soon as he was pressed into the attack. Ashwin dismissed Petersen for 28.

Towards the end of the third day's play, Rassie van der Dussen added a further 25 runs for the third wicket with Elgar. The South African Test captain Elgar took a lot of body blows but fought on bravely.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 202 (63.1)
South Africa 1st Innings: 229 (79.4)

India 2nd Innings: 266 (60.1)
Fall of wickets: 3-155 (Ajinkya Rahane-34.6 ov), 4-163 (Cheteshwar Pujara-36.6 ov), 5-167 (Rishabh Pant-38.3 ov), 6-184 (Ravichandran Ashwin-43.3 ov), 7-225 (Shardul Thakur-49.6 ov), 8-228 (Mohammed Shami-51.5 ov), 9-245 (Jasprit Bumrah-56.2 ov), 10-266 (Mohammed Siraj-60.1 ov)

South Africa 2nd Innings: 118-2 (40)
Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Aiden Markram-9.6 ov), 2-93 (Keegan Petersen-27.2 ov)

End of Day 3: South Africa needs another 122 runs


Playing XIs

South Africa: Dean Elgar (captain), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi

India: KL Rahul (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details

Toss: India, elected to bat

Venue: Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Start time: 1000 hrs SA time

Match officials: Allahudien Paleker, Marais Erasmus (On-field Umpires); Adrian Holdstock (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022