< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v Ind 2nd Test Day 4: Elgar leads from the front in historic win

South Africa scripted history by beating India by seven wickets for the first time ever in a Test at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

On a rain-hit fourth day of the second Test South Africa chased down the target of 240 with seven wickets to spare to finish on 243 for three. The three-match series is now levelled at 1-1.

Earlier, rain hit start of play on Thursday. The first two sessions were wiped out completely. Play finally started at 345 pm local time. Only 34 overs were allocated for the day. South Africa resumed at their overnight score of 118 for two, needing a further 122 runs.

The chase was completed quite efficiently thanks to South Africa captain Dean Elgar's resilience. Along the way South Africa was helped by some ordinary bowling by India where they leaked runs and appeared flat generally.

Rassie van der Dussen fell with the score on 175, but by then he added 82 for third wicket with skipper Elgar. But after that there was no alarm for South Africa.

Elgar teamed up with his deputy Temba Bavuma nicely. Together Elgar and Bavuma remained unbeaten as they added 68 for the fourth wicket. The winning runs were hit by Elgar who remained unbeaten on 96 off 188 balls with 10 boundaries. For his effort, Elgar was named Player of the Match.

The third and final Test starts on 11 January at Cape Town.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 202 (63.1)
South Africa 1st Innings: 229 (79.4)
India 2nd Innings: 266 (60.1)

South Africa 2nd Innings: 118-2 (40)
Fall of wickets:  3-175 (Rassie van der Dussen-53.6 ov)

Result - South Africa won by seven wickets, series levelled at 1-1 


Playing XI

South Africa: Dean Elgar (captain), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi

India: KL Rahul (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Match details

Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
Start time: 1000 hrs SA time
Match officials: Allahudien Paleker, Marais Erasmus (On-field Umpires); Adrian Holdstock (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022