< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v Ind 3rd ODI: South Africa hold nerves to complete whitewash

South Africa after being asked to bat posted 287 in 49.5 overs and in response India was restricted to 283 in 49.2 overs.

Earlier, South Africa made one change to the line-up bringing in Dwaine Pretorius in place of Tabraiz Shamsi. South Africa lost three early wickets and were at 70 for three. Then Quinton de Kock shared a crucial 144 run stand for the fourth wicket with Rassie van der Dussen. de Kock fell for a brilliant 124 off 130 balls with 12 boundaries and two sixes. The next to go was van der Dussen for 52 off 59 balls with four boundaries and a six. Thereafter, David Miller rallied the lower order with a brisk 39 off 38 balls. Towards the end Pretorius also used the long handle to good effect.

In the end South Africa was bowled out for 287 in 49.5 overs. For India the wicket-takers were Prasidh Krishna (3-59), Jasprit Bumrah (2-52) and Deepak Chahar (2-53).

In their response, India's chase was being fashioned by a strong 98 run second wicket stand between Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli. But when Dhawan fell for 61 off 73 balls with five boundaries and a six, India's chase went awry. Kohli then fell for 65 (84b, 5x4). Then Suryakumar Yadav (39) tried to revive the chase. Deepak Chahar then took over as he shared a crucial 55 run eighth wicket with Bumrah. Chahar fell for 54 off 34 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. India's chase then went off tracks completely and were finally bowled out for 283 off 49.2 overs.

For South Africa the chief wicket-takers were Andile Phehlukwayo (3-40), Lungi Ngidi (3-58) and Pretorius (2-54).

India had made four changes bringing in Krishna, Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav and Jayant Yadav in place of Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Venkatesh Iyer and Shardul Thakur.

Quinton de Kock was named player of the series and player of the match.

Match Summary

South Africa: 287 (49.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Janneman Malan-2.1 ov), 2-34 (Temba Bavuma-6.3 ov), 3-70 (Aiden Markram-12.2 ov), 4-214 (Quinton de Kock-35.4 ov), 5-218 (Rassie van der Dussen-36.5 ov), 6-228 (Andile Phehlukwayo, 40.1 ov), 7-272 (Dwaine Pretorius-47.2 ov), 8-282 (Keshav Maharaj-48.5 ov), 9-287 (David Miller-49.3 ov), 10-287 (Sisanda Magala-49.5 ov)

India: 283 (49.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (KL Rahul-4.1 ov), 2-116 (Shikhar Dhawan-22.2 ov), 3-118 (Rishabh Pant-22.6 ov), 4-156 (Virat Kohli-31.4 ov), 5-195 (Shreyas Iyer-37.1 ov), 6-210 (Suryakumar Yadav-39.5 ov), 7-223 (Jayant Yadav-42.1 ov), 8-278 (Deepak Chahar-47.1 ov), 9-281 (Jasprit Bumrah-48.3 ov), 10-283 (Yuzvendra Chahal-49.2 ov)

Result: South Africa won by four runs, claim series 3-0


Playing XIs

South Africa:
Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Temba Bavuma (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Sisanda Magala

KL Rahul (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Ravichandran Ashwin, Deepak Chahar/Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Match officials: Bongani Jele, Marais Erasmus (On-field Umpires); Allahudien Paleker (TV Umpire); Adrian Holdstock (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022