< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v Ind 3rd Test Day 1: South Africa gain control of proceedings

South Africa gained control of the first day's play in the third Test with an outstanding display with the ball against India at the Newlands in Cape Town on Tuesday.

India after opting to bat was bowled out for 223 and in response South Africa were on 17 for 1 when stumps were drawn at the end of the day's play.

Earlier, India's openers started confidenly through openers Lokesh Rahul and Mayank Agarwal as they added 31 for the first wicket. But Rahul and Agarwal fell in quick succession.

Then Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli added 62 runs for the third wicket. Pujara fell right after lunch just when it looked like he would score a big one. Then Kohli stood at one corner as Ajinkya Rahane fell first.

Then Kohli put on 51 runs for the fifth wicket with Rishabh Pant. It appeared that this pair would take India to a big score, but did not happen as Pant fell.

Shardul Thakur then joined forces with Kohli and added 3 runs for the seventh wicket. Kohli fell soon after for 79 off 201 balls with 12 boundaries and one six. Kohli has now gone 61 international innings without a century.

India's innings finally folded for 223 in 77.3 overs.

For South Africa, the best bowlers were Kagiso Rabad (4-73) and Marco Jansen (3-55).

In their response, South Africa lost their captain Dean Elgar to Jasprit Bumrah. When stumps were drawn South Africa were at 17 for one with Aiden Markram and Keshav Maharaj still at the crease.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 223 (77.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (KL Rahul-11.2 ov), 2-33 (Mayank Agarwal-12.2 ov), 3-95 (Cheteshwar Pujara-37.3 ov), 4-116 (Ajinkya Rahane-42.1 ov), 5-167 (Rishabh Pant-60.3 ov), 6-175 (Ravichandran Ashwin-62.5 ov), 7-205 (Shardul Thakur-67.4 ov), 8-210 (Jasprit Bumrah-70.5 ov), 9-211 (Virat Kohli-72.3 ov), 10-223 (Mohammed Shami-77.3 ov)

South Africa 1st Innings: 17-1 (8)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Dean Elgar-4.4 ov)

End of Day 1: South Africa trail by 206 runs


Playing XI

South Africa: Dean Elgar (captain), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi

India: KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

Match Details

Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Newlands, Capetown
Start time: 1030 am SA time
Match officials: Adrian Holdstock, Marais Erasmus (On-field umpires); Allahudien Paleker (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022