< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v Ind 3rd Test Day 2: Bumrah & Co put India ahead marginally

India fought back strongly on the second day of the third and final Test as they edged ahead in the decisive encounter at the Newslands ground in Cape Town.

On Wednesday, South Africa were bowled out for 210 to hand India a lead of 13 runs. In response India finished the day at 57 for two when stumps were drawn to end with an overall lead of 70.

Earlier, South Africa lost their opener Aiden Markram off the very second ball of the day. Then for a while nightwatchman Keshav Maharaj and Keegan Petersen held off India for a while. But just when Maharaj appeared to be frustrating India, he fell to reduce South Africa to 45 for three.

Then began a crucial 67 run fourth wicket stand between Petersen and Rassie van der Dussen. Again as the South African innings appeared to be coming back on track, van der Dussen fell to Umesh Yadav. Then the innings one again saw a 42 run fifth wicket stand between Petersen and Temba Bavuma.

It appeared that South Africa is running away with the contest. Just then Mohammed Shami struck two wickets in three deliveries as he dismissed both Bavuma and Kyle Verreynne as South Africa was reduced to 159 for six.

Just before tea, Marco Jansen was dismissed. Later, after tea India was held off for a while but South Africa's tail finally gave in. South Africa was bowled out for 210 in 76.3 overs. Petersen was the top-scorer for South Africa as he scored 72 off 166 balls and his knock was laced with nine boundaries.

For India the wicket-takers were Bumrah (5-42), Yadav (2-64) and Shami (2-39).

In their response, India lost their openers Lokesh Rahul and Mayank Agarwal. It was reduced to 24 for two. Then captain Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara added an unbeaten 33 runs for the third wicket. India ended the second day with score at 57 for two to end with an overall lead of 70.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 223 (77.3)
South Africa 2nd Innings: 210 (76.3)

Fall of wickets: 2-17 (Aiden Markram-8.2 ov), 3-45 (Keshav Maharaj-20.2 ov), 4-112 (Rassie van der Dussen-39.2 ov), 5-159 (Temba Bavuma-55.2 ov), 6-159 (Kyle Verreynne-55.4 ov), 7-176 (Marco Jansen-62.2 ov), 8-179 (Keegan Petersen-64.4 ov), 9-200 (Kagiso Rabada-71.3 ov), 10-210 (Lungi Ngidi-76.3 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 57-2 (17)
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Mayank Agarwal-4.5 ov), 2-24 (KL Rahul-5.5 ov)

End of Day 2: India lead by 70 runs


Playing XI

South Africa: Dean Elgar (captain), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi

India: KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

Match Details

Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Newlands, Capetown
Start time: 1030 am SA time
Match officials: Adrian Holdstock, Marais Erasmus (On-field umpires); Allahudien Paleker (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022