< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA v Ind 3rd Test Day 4: South Africa claim a remarkable series win

South Africa registered a remarkable come from behind series win as they beat India by seven wickets on the fourth day of the third and final Test at the Newlands in Cape Town.

South Africa won the series 2-1, after having lost the first Test.

On Friday, South Africa resumed at their overnight score of 101 for two, but they chased down the target of 212 to finish on 212 for three in 63.3 overs.

India did not get much joy when play started. Both overnight batters Keegan Petersen and Rassie van der Dussen resolutely defended everything India threw at them.

Petersen survived a dropped catch by Cheteshwar Pujara off Jasprit Bumrah. Petersen profited from that as he added crucial runs. In the end Petersen finally fell for 82 off 113 balls with 10 boundaries. Petersen and van der Dussen added 54 runs for the third wicket.

Then South Africa vice-captain Temba Bavuma joined forces with van der Dussen as they put on 57 runs for an unbroken fourth wicket stand. South Africa achieved the target in 63.3 overs to finish on 212 for three.

For India, the only wicket-taker on the day was Shardul Thakur.

Petersen was named player of the match and player of the series.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 223 (77.3)
South Africa 2nd Innings: 210 (76.3)
India 2nd Innings: 198 (67.3)

South Africa 2nd Innings: 212-3 (63.3)
Fall of wickets: 3-155 (Keegan Petersen, 46.2 ov)

End of Day Series: South Africa wins Test by seven wickets; claim series 2-1


Playing XI

South Africa: Dean Elgar (captain), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi

India: KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

Match Details

Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Newlands, Capetown
Start time: 1030 am SA time
Match officials: Adrian Holdstock, Marais Erasmus (On-field umpires); Allahudien Paleker (TV Umpire); Bongani Jele (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)