< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA20 Final 2023: Sunrisers Eastern Cape beat Pretoria Capitals by 4 wickets

Adam Rossington
Adam Rossington

Sunrisers Eastern Cape beat Pretoria Capitals by 4 wickets in the final of the SA20 2023 today, at the Wanderers, Joburg


Match Summary

Pretoria Capitals vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape, Final, SA20

Pretoria Capitals 135/10 (19.3 ov)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape 137/6 (16.2 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Eastern Cape won by 4 wickets



Match Report

The Sunrisers Eastern Cape have been crowned the inaugural Betway SA20 champions.  

The Gqeberha-based team cruised to a comfortable four-wicket victory over the Pretoria Capitals at a sold out Wanderers on Sunday.  

The final was moved to the reserve day after a waterlogged field and inclement weather forced it to be postponed. But that did nothing to dim the excitement with the Bullring creating a fabulous atmosphere. And the Sunrisers Eastern Cape did not disappoint by delivering a brilliant bowling performance to by bowling the Capitals out for just 135. 

It was led by the ever-green Roelof van Merwe. The 38-year-old delivered an excellent spell with the left-arm spinner picking up 4/31. Van der Merwe was ably supported by Sisanda Magala (2/30) and Ottniel Baartman (2/22). 

The Sunrisers’ reply did not get off to the best of starts with Temba Bavuma departing in the second over to Eathan Bosch. 

Aiden Markram’s team, however, were soon back on track with Adam Rossington counter-attacking through a 30-ball 57. Rossington tore into the Capitals’ attack and ensured the chase was never going to be tricky.

Anrich Nortje bowled his heart out for the Capitals in a bid to haul his team back into the game, but ultimately his 2/21 was not going to be enough.  

Marco Jansen delivered the killer blow for the Sunrisers with his six over long-off, setting off the celebrations all the way from Johannesburg to Gqeberha.  


Betway SA Award Winners: 


Betway SA20 Champions: Sunrisers Eastern Cape  

Runners-up: Pretoria Capitals 

Spirit of the Season: Sunrisers Eastern Cape  

Rising Star: Eathan Bosch (Pretoria Capitals) 

Batter of the Season: Jos Buttler (Paarl Royals) 

Bowler of the Season: Roelof van der Merwe (Sunrisers Eastern Cape) 

Player of the Season: Aiden Markram (Sunrisers Eastern Cape) 


Match Stats

Pretoria Capitals Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Kusal Mendis - 3.6 ov), 2-33 (Philip Salt - 4.1 ov), 3-64 (Rilee Rossouw - 6.6 ov), 4-66 (Theunis de Bruyn - 7.3 ov), 5-101 (Colin Ingram - 14.3 ov), 6-113 (Jimmy Neesham - 16.2 ov), 7-127 (Eathan Bosch - 17.5 ov), 8-127 (Migael Pretorius - 17.6 ov), 9-127 (Wayne Parnell - 18.1 ov), 10-135 (Adil Rashid - 19.3 ov)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Temba Bavuma - 1.2 ov), 2-78 (Jordan Hermann - 6.4 ov), 3-103 (Adam Rossington - 10.1 ov), 4-113 (Aiden Markram - 12.3 ov), 5-121 (Jordan Cox - 13.2 ov), 6-126 (Tristan Stubbs - 15.3 ov)


Playing XIs

Pretoria Capitals:  Philip Salt(WK), Kusal Mendis, Theunis de Bruyn, Rilee Rossouw, Colin Ingram, Jimmy Neesham, Wayne Parnell(C), Eathan Bosch, Migael Pretorius, Adil Rashid, Anrich Nortje

Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Adam Rossington(WK), Temba Bavuma, Jordan Hermann, Aiden Markram(C), Tristan Stubbs, Jordan Cox, Marco Jansen, Brydon Carse, Ottniel Baartman, Roelof van der Merwe, Sisanda Magala


Match Details:

Date: Sunday, February 12, 2023 11:30

Venue:  The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Toss:  Sunrisers Eastern Cape won the toss & elected to field

© Cricket World 2023