< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA20 Match 12: Jensen crucial in Sunrisers victory

Ottniel Baartman in action for Sunrisers Eastern Cape
Ottniel Baartman in action for Sunrisers Eastern Cape

A Marco Jansen half century was enough to see Sunrisers Eastern Cape to a 2 wicket win over MI Cape Town today at Newlands, Cape Town.

Match Summary

MI Cape Town vs Sunrisers Eastern Cape, 12th Match, SA20

MI Cape Town 171/6 (20 ov)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape 171/8 (19.4 ov)

Result - Sunrisers Eastern Cape won by 2 wickets


Sunrisers Eastern Cape won the toss and chose to bowl, Sisanda Magala (1/49) getting the better of Dewald Brevis early on.

Ryan Rickelton (46) and Grant Roelofsen (56) mended what they could of the innings, adding a partnership to give the side hope/

The run from Cape Town came to a close at the hands of Roelof van der Merwe (2/21) however, as momentum swung back in Eastern Cape's favour.

Cape Town left the field on a respectable 171 and it was over to Eastern Cape's batsmen.

It was a mixed bag, Kagiso Rabada (3/34) and Jofra Archer (1/18) dominating early on before a few late knocks put Eastern Cape back into this one.

It started with Tristan Stubbs (28), before Marco Jansen (66) struck a half century to really get things moving as they took a 2 wicket win as it came down to the wire.

Match Stats

MI Cape Town Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Dewald Brevis - 1.4 ov), 2-109 (Ryan Rickelton - 13.1 ov), 3-110 (Grant Roelofsen - 13.4 ov), 4-121 (George Linde - 15.1 ov), 5-121 (Sam Curran - 15.2 ov), 6-123 (Rassie van der Dussen - 16.1 ov)

Sunrisers Eastern Cape:Fall of wickets: 1-14 (JJ Smuts - 1.2 ov), 2-35 (Adam Rossington - 3.1 ov), 3-40 (Sarel Erwee - 4.6 ov), 4-57 (Aiden Markram - 8.1 ov), 5-91 (Tristan Stubbs - 12.1 ov), 6-101 (Jordan Cox - 14.1 ov), 7-154 (Brydon Carse - 18.1 ov)

Playing XI

MI Cape Town - Dewald Brevis, Ryan Rickelton, Rassie van der Dussen, Grant Roelofsen (WK), Sam Curran, Delano Potgieter, George Linde, Rashid Khan (C), Odean Smith, Kagiso Rabada, Jofra Archer

Sunrisers Eastern Cape - Adam Rossington (WK), JJ Smuts, Sarel Erwee, Aiden Markram (C), Tristan Stubbs, Tom Abell, Marco Jansen, Roelof van der Merwe, Sisanda Magala, Brydon Carse, Ottniel Baartman

Match Details

Date: 2023-01-18 11:30:00

Venue: Newlands, Cape Town, Cape Town

Toss: Sunrisers Eastern Cape won the toss & elected to field

Umpires: Arno Jacobs (South Africa), Bongani Jele (South Africa), Allahudien Paleker (South Africa

© Cricket World 202