< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

SA20 Match 26: Pretoria Capitals dump MI Cape Town out of SA20 2023 in tense thriller

Wayne Parnell
Wayne Parnell celebrates a tense and painful win over MI Cape Town

In a real nailbiter, Pretoria Capitals came out winners by 1 wicket, off the last ball of the match, against MI Cape Town, at SuperSport Park, Centurion today.

Match Summary

Pretoria Capitals vs MI Cape Town, 26th Match, SA20

Pretoria Capitals 160/9 (20 ov)

MI Cape Town 159/10 (19.4 ov)

Result - Pretoria Capitals won by 1 wicket



Pretoria Capitals won the toss and elected to field and MI Cape Town scored 159 on a slow, low pitch which was difficult for the batters to get going on.

Rassie van der Dussen 51 top scored and Anrich Nortje, Jimmy Neesham and Eathan Bosch all took two wickets apiece.

In the run chase, Pretoria Capitals’ Wayne Parnell hobbled the Capitals’ over the line, off the last ball of the match, having been injured early in the field. Pretoria Capitals won by 1 wicket, effectively dumping MI Cape Town out of the tournament.

Kusal Mendis 39 and Rilee Rossouw 40 top scored for the Capitals and Sam Curran was the hero with the ball for MI Cape Town

Player of the Match - Rilee Rossouw

 Match Stats

MI Cape Town Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Wesley Marshall - 3.1 ov), 2-44 (Grant Roelofsen - 5.5 ov), 3-74 (Dewald Brevis - 8.2 ov), 4-107 (Rassie van der Dussen - 11.4 ov), 5-112 (Tim David - 12.6 ov), 6-117 (George Linde - 13.6 ov), 7-128 (Duan Jansen - 15.4 ov), 8-129 (Sam Curran - 16.1 ov), 9-143 (Odean Smith - 18.1 ov), 10-159 (Kagiso Rabada - 19.4 ov)

Pretoria Capitals Fall of wickets: 1-50 (Philip Salt - 5.1 ov), 2-51 (Kusal Mendis - 5.5 ov), 3-53 (Theunis de Bruyn - 6.1 ov), 4-114 (Rilee Rossouw - 12.5 ov), 5-114 (Shane Dadswell - 13.2 ov), 6-115 (Jimmy Neesham - 13.6 ov), 7-138 (Eathan Bosch - 17.1 ov), 8-148 (Anrich Nortje - 17.6 ov), 9-158 (Senuran Muthusamy - 19.3 ov)

Playing XIs

Pretoria Capitals:  Kusal Mendis(WK), Philip Salt, Rilee Rossouw, Theunis de Bruyn, Wayne Parnell(C), Jimmy Neesham, Senuran Muthusamy, Shane Dadswell, Anrich Nortje, Josh Little, Eathan Bosch

MI Cape Town: Grant Roelofsen(WK), Rassie van der Dussen, Tim David, Dewald Brevis, Wesley Marshall, Sam Curran, Odean Smith, George Linde, Duan Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Rashid Khan(C)


Match Details:

Date: Saturday, February 4, 2023 15:30

VenueSuperSport Park, Centurion

Toss: Pretoria Capitals won the toss & elected to field

Officials Umpires: Allahudien Paleker South Africa Marais Erasmus South Africa

Match Referee: Barry Lambson South Africa

© Cricket World 2023