< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

SACA: Harris and Valente named Premier Cricket's best


Sturt’s Brooke Harris and Adelaide’s Cameron Valente have been recognised for their outstanding seasons by being awarded Premier Cricket’s highest individual honours.


Harris has been awarded her second Karen Rolton Medal, while Valente will take home the Bradman Medal for the first time.


The Medals are awarded to the cricketers that poll the highest number of votes as cast by umpires in their respective First Grade competitions.


Deemed the best player in the Statewide Super Women’s First Grade competition, allrounder Harris last won the Rolton just two seasons ago (2017-18) while playing for West Torrens, but has since made the move to the Blues.


She is just the third Sturt player to win the women’s top award after Alex Price in 2015-16 and Kris Britt in 2006-07 and 2007-08.


Harris took an incredible 34 wickets at 8.24 in 2019-20, which was the most wickets ever for a First Grade female’s campaign. She also finished the competition in sixth place for runs with 232.


In a landslide victory, Harris earned votes in 10 of 15 rounds, polling 39 votes in total, 11 votes ahead of second-placed Tahlia McGrath (28 votes) of West Torrens.


Kensington captain and 2016-17 joint Medal winner Sarah Lowe came in third with 20 votes.


Valente polled in eight games, earning 40 votes in the West End First Grade competition to be awarded the 62nd Bradman Medal, just two votes ahead of Adelaide University’s Sam Kerber on 38.


He becomes the seventh Adelaide Cricket Club player to win a Bradman, with Luke Williams (three times) and Ben Johnson (twice) both winning multiple times during their playing careers.


Valente amassed 561 runs at a stunning average of 112.20, the second highest average in the competition. His highest score was an unbeaten 109, while he also posted a further four half-centuries.


The medium-pacer took 28 wickets at 12.75 from 11 matches, including two five-wicket hauls.


In a close count, Adelaide’s Ben Pengelley placed third with 37 votes.


 Karen Rolton Medal

Winner: Brooke Harris, Sturt (39 votes)

2nd: Tahlia McGrath, West Torrens (28 votes)

3rd: Sarah Lowe, Kensington (20 votes)


Bradman Medal

Winner: Cameron Valente, Adelaide (40 votes)

2nd: Sam Kerber, Adelaide University (38 votes)

3rd: Ben Pengelley, Adelaide (37 votes)


2019-20 Statewide Super Premier Cricket Women’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-person panel: Tegan McPharlin (Northern Districts)(c, wk), Tahlia McGrath (West Torrens), Alex Price (Sturt), Annie O’Neil (Sturt), Eliza Doddridge (Kensington), Stacey Oates (Sturt), Brooke Harris (Sturt), Sarah Lowe (Kensington), Amanda-Jade Wellington (West Torrens), Sam Betts (Northern Districts), Shae Daly (Kensington), 12th: Kelly Armstrong (Southern District).


Statewide Super Coach of the Year: Manning McInerney (West Torrens)


2019-20 West End Premier Cricket Men’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-person panel: Brad Davis (Sturt), Ben Pengelley (Adelaide), Jake Lehmann (East Torrens)(c), Sam Kerber (Adelaide Uni), Will Bosisto (Adelaide Uni), Daniel Drew (West Torrens), Josh Barrett (Southern District)(wk), Cameron Valente (Adelaide), Adam Somerfield (Tea Tree Gully), Ben Turley (Woodville), Lewis Hatchett (Southern Districts), 12th: Mark Cosgrove (Northern Districts).


 West End Coach of the Year: Steve Stubbings (East Torrens)

Premier Cricket Umpire of the Year: Eloise Sheridan

Premier Cricket Volunteer of the Year: Ryan Burt (Woodville)

Shelley Nitschke Medal (Statewide Super Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series): Ella Wilson (Southern District)

Marg Jude Wicketkeeping Trophy: Eliza Bartlett (Sturt)

Joanne Broadbent Fielding Trophy: Rhianna Peate (Sturt)

Lyn Fullston Medal (Second Grade Women): Anesu Mushangwe (Glenelg)

Fred Godson Medal (West End One Day Cup Player of the Series): Cameron Valente (Adelaide)

Darren Lehmann Medal (West End Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series): Brad Davis (Sturt)

CW Walker Memorial Trophy (Most Outstanding Wicketkeeper): Josh Barrett (Southern District)

Talbot Smith Fielding Trophy: Daniel Drew (West Torrens)

Jason Gillespie Medal (Male Rising Star): Liam Scott (Glenelg)

KC Butler Medal (Second Grade Men): Tom Mackenzie (Kensington)

Sid Daly Medal (Third Grade Men): James Miller (East Torrens)

McLeod/Wilson Medal (Fourth Grade Men): Alasdair McFarlane (Adelaide Uni) & Ben Sedunary (Glenelg)

©Cricket World 2020

Official Cricket Australia Website
Official Cricket Australia Website