Sachin Tendulkar Retires From ODIs Ahead Of Pakistan Series

Sachin Tendulkar Retires From ODIs Ahead Of Pakistan Series
Sachin Tendulkar Retires From ODIs Ahead Of Pakistan Series
©REUTERS/Andrew Biraj. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sachin Tendulkar has announced his retirement from One-Day Internationals on the day that India announced their limited-overs squads for the forthcoming series against Pakistan.

The selectors made six changes from the ODI squad that toured Sri Lanka earlier this year, with Zaheer Khan left out alongside spinners Rahul Sharma and Pragyan Ojha. The injured trio of Umesh Yadav, Manoj Tiwary and Irfan Pathan were not considered for selection. Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Shami Ahmed and Amit Mishra are the six men who take their places. Virender Sehwag survives the axe despite his recent poor form.

Zaheer was understood to have been left out in order to play Ranji Trophy cricket for Mumbai ahead of the Test series against Australia in February, while Shami Ahmed and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been rewarded for consistent performances for India A and in the Ranji Trophy. Amit Mishra is preferred to Piyush Chawla as the second spinner in the ODI squad, while Yuvraj Singh will play his first ODI since returning to cricket following his battle with cancer.

It is the retirement of Tendulkar, however, which will dominate this morning’s headlines. He will leave the ODI game as the most successful player ever to play the format with over 18,000 runs at an average of almost 45. The highlight of his career was undoubtedly being part of India’s triumphant 2011 World Cup winning team; something he alluded to in the statement released announcing his retirement.

"I have decided to retire from the One Day format of the game," he said. "I feel blessed to have fulfilled the dream of being part of a World Cup winning Indian team. The preparatory process to defend the World Cup in 2015 should begin early and in right earnest. I would like to wish the team all the very best for the future. I am eternally grateful to all my well wishers for their unconditional support and love over the years."

T20I squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Parvinder Awana, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu.

ODI squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shami Ahmed, Amit Mishra.

© Cricket World 2012


Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


4th #WIvInd Test review from Trinidad

An Evening With Aggers & Tuffers - a teaser