< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Saeed Ajmal Back In Pakistan Squad

Saeed Ajmal Back In Pakistan Squad
Saeed Ajmal has made a comeback to the Pakistan team in all three formats for their tour of Bangladesh.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Pakistan off-spinner Saeed Ajmal has made a comeback to the national side for their tour of Bangladesh later this month after having remodeled his bowling action.

Ajmal who was banned by the International Cricket Council (ICC) last year for an illegal bowling action has been included in the Pakistan team for all three formats in the series.

It was during a Test match against Sri Lanka last year that the umpires reported Ajmal for an illegal bowling action consequently earning him a ban from international cricket.

The off-spinner’s arm was found to be straightening far above the permissible limits set by the ICC in all of his deliveries.

Although Ajmal remodeled his action and eventually got a clearance from the ICC on all his deliveries during the second testing in February, he wasn’t included in Pakistan’s World Cup squad.

Having played his last international match in August 2014, the 37-year-old will be making a comeback after a lengthy break of eight months.

While Ajmal makes his return to the team, Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad are the notable exclusions in the squad apart from Misbah-ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi both of whom have retired from ODIs.

However, Misbah continues to be the captain of the Test side while Afridi leads the team in the shortest format of the game.

New ODI captain Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Hafeez and Fawad Alam are among the main inclusions in the squad for the ODI series.

All-rounder Hafeez who was banned from bowling due to an illegal bowling action will undergo a biomechanical test with his remodeled action on 9th April.

Opening batsman Sami Aslam, wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan along with middle-order batsmen Babar Azam and Mukhtar Ahmed are the uncapped players named in the squads.

Left-arm Pacer Junaid Khan who missed the World Cup due to a thigh injury is back in the Test and Twenty20 squad while fellow pacer Mohammad Irfan misses the tour due to injury issues.

Pakistan’s tour of Bangladesh which is scheduled to start in approximately two weeks will include two Tests, three ODIs and a Twenty20. 

Pakistan Test squad: Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sami Aslam, Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Haris Sohail, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali

Pakistan ODI squad: Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Azhar Ali (capt), Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Sami Aslam, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan

Pakistan T20 squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Mukhtar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi (capt), Sohail Tanvir, Saad Nasim, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Umar Gul, Junaid Khan

© Cricket World 2015