< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sammy, bowlers help Peshawar Zalmi to maiden PSL title

Darren Sammy led from the front in the final of PSL
Darren Sammy led from the front in the final of PSL
©Chris Whiteoak

Peshawar Zalmi 148-6 (Akmal 40) beat
Quetta Gladiators 90 (Ervine 24) by 58 runs
Final, Pakistan Super League, Lahore

A collective bowling effort from Peshawar Zalmi saw them dismiss Quetta Gladiators for just 90 runs in a chase of 149 runs, thereby securing their maiden Pakistan Super League title with the 58-run victory in the final at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

This was also the first time the tournament featured in Lahore amid pull out from foreign players of Quetta Gladiators, who had to settle with Rayad Emrit, Anamul Haque, Sean Ervine and Morne van Wyk as their four overseas players for the game.

Meanwhile, Peshawar Zalmi had their regulars in Dawid Malan, Chris Jordan, skipper Darren Sammy and Marlon Samuels but their talismanic all-rounder Shahid Afridi had to miss out on the encounter with an injury.

Quetta Gladiators won the toss and decided to field first. Kamran Akmal (40) continued his form from the previous game and smashed four boundaries in the first over while Dawid Malan (17) too joined the onslaught as Peshawar Zalmi raced to 42 runs off 27 deliveries.

Emrit (3-30) provided the initial breakthrough by castling Malan. Akmal and Marlon Samuels (19) ensured Peshawar Zalmi reached 64 for one in nine overs.

In the 10th over, the duo slammed two sixes and a four combined but also lost Akmal, who was trapped LBW by Hasan Khan (2-34). From there on Peshawar Zalmi lost Samuels (19), Mohammad Hafeez (12) and Khushdil Shah (1) and slipped to 112 for six.

A late flourish from skipper Sammy (28 not out) with his 11-ball cameo ensured Peshawar Zalmi reached 148 for six in the 20 overs.

In the chase, Quetta Gladiators lost Morne van Wyk (1), Ahmed Shehzad (1) and Haque (3) early and were reduced to 13 for three.

Sarfraz Ahmed (22), Ervine (24) and Anwar Ali (20) tried to keep the fight going but regular wickets from Mohammad Asghar (3-16), Hasan Ali (2-13) and Wahab Riaz (2-13) meant Quetta Gladiators could manage only 90 runs before they were bowled out in 16.3 overs.

This was also Peshawar Zalmi's maiden PSL triumph as Sammy and Akmal bagged the player of the match and player of the series awards respectively.

© Cricket World 2017