< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sammy Ruled Out Of New Zealand T20s

West Indies players celebrate
Darren Sammy (left) is out of the Twenty20 series and Nikita MIller (second right) earns a recall
©REUTERS / Action Images

West Indies Twenty20 International captain Darren Sammy has been ruled out of the two matches against New Zealand due to a hamstring injury.

He picked up the injury ahead of the third One-Day International and joins Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard as absentees for the two-match series.

Gayle is recovering from a torn hamstring, Pollard a knee injury while Darren Bravo is also unavailable having flown home earlier in the tour due to personal reasons.

Joining the touring party in New Zealand are all-rounder Andre Russell, who will be available for selection for tomorrow's fifth and final One-Day International, leg-spinner Samuel Badree and batsman Andre Fletcher.

ODI captain Dwayne Bravo will take on captaincy duties as Sammy remains in New Zealand to continue his rehabilitation.

The squad therefore shows many changes from the West Indies' last Twenty20 outings against Pakistan in July.

Christopher Barnwell, Shannon Gabriel and Marlon Samuels have been left out and in come Johnson Charles, Narsingh Deonarine, Fletcher, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Russell and Chadwick Walton.

The matches will be played in Auckland and Wellington on 11th and 14th January.

West Indies T20I squad: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Samuel Badree, Tino Best, Johnson Charles, Narsingh Deonarine, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Chadwick Walton

© Cricket World 2014