Samuels Century Sets Up West Indian Victory

Samuels Century Sets Up West Indian Victory
Samuels Century Sets Up West Indian Victory
©REUTERS / Action Images

West Indians 195-3 (Samuels 105no, Russell 58) beat
BCB XI 120-6 (Shahriar Nafees 29) by 75 runs
Twenty20 tour game, Fatullah

An unbeaten century from Marlon Samuels and 58 from all-rounder Andre Russell set up a comfortable 75-run win for the touring West Indians over a Bangladesh Cricket Board XI in a Twenty20 tour game in Fatullah.

Samuels was not out on 105 as the tourists made 195 for three while the BCB XI reached a meagre 120 for six in reply as Samuels and Darren Sammy both took two wickets.

Samuels warmed up for the Twenty20 International against Bangladesh on 11th October by hitting 14 fours and three sixes in his 56-ball innings as he posted a maiden Twenty20 century while Russell carved his 58 from 35 deliveries, the pair adding 102 for the third wicket in less than ten overs.

Lendl Simmons (12) and Adrian Barath (4) fell cheaply early on before Samuels and Russell found their range and took the bowling attack to pieces, although Farhad Reza emerged from the carnage with figures of two for 37 and Shuvagoto Horn took one for 31.

The Bangladesh side then struggled in reply, only captain Shahriar Nafees, who made 29, threatening to break the shackles as the West Indies kept things tight with the ball.

Samuels, only recently cleared to bowl his off-spin following a ban, returned two for 18 from four overs while Sammy took two for 23.

There was a wicket apiece for youngsters Devendra Bishoo and Carlos Brathwaite.

After the game, Samuels said: "I played really well and that has really given me the confidence. I hit the ball nicely and I was able to find the gaps, so for me that was quite satisfying. I played some good shots but I also batted smartly and that was the key.

"We have a big match coming up on Tuesday and from there the One-Day matches and the Test matches. I feel ready to take on the Bangladesh bowlers. That will be the big test."

© Cricket World 2011