< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sarfraz Ahmed named captain of Champions Trophy team of tournament

Hasan Ali had an impressive tournament
Hasan Ali had an impressive tournament

International Cricket Council on Monday announced Champions Trophy's team of the tournament with the victorious skipper of Pakistan named the captain.

Tournament's leading run scorer Shikhar Dhawan with 338 runs has been slotted at the opening spot with impressive Fakhar Zaman, who notched a century and two fifties in the last three games as his partner at the top.

Tamim Iqbal (293), who has been instrumental in Bangladesh reaching a semi-final in an ICC tournament for the first time along with Indian skipper Virat Kohli (258) and England's Joe Root (258) have occupied positions 3, 4 and 5 in the line-up while all-rounder Ben Stokes along with wicket-keeper and captain Sarfraz Ahmed also make it to the team.

Adil Rashid, who snared seven wickets from three games will be the lone spinner while the pace bowling has been dominated by Pakistan duo Hasan Ali and Junaid Khan with Bhuvneshwar Kumar being the other pacer.

Kane Williamson, who scored two fifties and a century in three matches was named the 12th man.

Team: Shikhar Dhawan (India), Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Virat Kohli (India), Joe Root (England), Ben Stokes (England), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (captain and wicketkeeper), Adil Rashid (England), Junaid Khan (Pakistan), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India), Hasan Ali (Pakistan), Kane Williamson (New Zealand) (12th man)

© Cricket World 2017