< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sarfraz, Elliott take Quetta to top position with resounding win

Sarfraz, Elliott takes Quetta to top position with resounding win
Grant Elliott made an impact straightaway in the Pakistan Super League with three-wicket haul.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Quetta Gladiators 118-3 (Ahmed 51no) beat
Islamabad United 117 (Watson 40) by seven wickets
11th match, Pakistan Super League, Sharjah

Sarfraz Ahmed played a responsible knock of unbeaten 51 to guide Quetta Gladiators home in a chase of 118 by seven wickets against Islamabad United in game 11 of the Pakistan Super League in Sharjah. 

Earlier it was the bowling effort led by Grant Elliott who set the game for the Gladiators restricting Islamabad United to 117.

Quetta Gladiators won the toss and elected to field first. Even though, Islamabad United lost Sharjeel Khan (2) early, Shane Watson (40) powered them to 54 for one in the first six overs.

Aizaz Cheema (2-14) provided the crucial breakthrough to dismiss Watson which proved to be the turning point as Islamabad United lost three more wickets in the next four overs. After 11 overs they were positioned at 68 for five.

The Quetta Gladiators bowlers never allowed Islamabad United to recover as they lost wickets at regular intervals and eventually getting bundled out for 117. Elliott (3-25) was the pick of the Quetta bowlers while Cheema and Zulfiqur Babar (2-29) had two wickets apiece.

During the chase, Quetta Gladiators lost Luke Wright (5) and Kevin Pietersen (0) off successive deliveries from Andre Russell (3-18) in the third over. 

A 59-run stand between Ahmed Shehzad (41) and skipper Ahmed (51 not out) calmed the nerves in the Quetta Gladiators dressing room.

Even though they lost Shehzad, Ahmed who reached his fifty off 37 deliveries along with Mohammad Nawaz (14) steered the team home in 16.1 overs.

The win has taken the Gladiators to the top position with eight points from five games. Elliott was awarded the man of the match for his bowling effort. 

© Cricket World 2016