Sarwan And Ramdin In West Indian World Cup Squad

Sarwan And Ramdin In West Indian World Cup Squad
Sarwan And Ramdin In West Indian World Cup Squad
©Action Images / Andrew Couldridge

The West Indies have named their 30-man preliminary squad for the 2011 World Cup, with experienced pace bowlers Jerome Taylor and Fidel Edwards missing out as they continue to recover from injuries.

Batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan and wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin - who were both not named in the recently-cancelled One-Day International series in Sri Lanka, are named in the squad.

There are also places for leg-spinners Devendra Bishoo and Anthony Martin, fast bowler Jason Holder and batsman Jonathan Carter on the back of strong domestic performances.

Meanwhile, experienced batsman Ryan Hinds and fast bowler Tino Best are added to the squad which will be trimmed to 15 by 19th January.

The World Cup, held in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka, gets underway on 19th February when co-hosts Bangladesh and India meet in Dhaka.

The West Indies are in a group alongside Bangladesh, England, the Netherlands, India, Ireland and South Africa, opening their campaign against the Proteas on 24th February in New Delhi.

West Indies: Lionel Baker, Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh Jr, Sulieman Benn, Dave Bernard Jr, Tino Best, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Shiv Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Jason Holder, Anthony Martin, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Kieron Pollard, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge, Devon Thomas

© Cricket World 2010

YouTube Button